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Discontinuation of Annual Sales Tax T-204R Reconciliations Forms 
T-204R not required beginning with Tax Year 2023 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today informs Sales Tax 
permit holders that the Rhode Island Annual Sales and Use Tax Reconciliation Return 
- Form T-204R-Annual will no longer be required for Tax Year 2023 and forward.  
 
Form RI-STR, introduced in late 2022 for periods 
beginning on and after January 1, 2023, aligns Rhode 
Island’s Sales and Use Tax form with forms used in 
neighboring states. This provides a more consistent 
experience for taxpayers, as well as allows taxpayers to 
reconcile sales each period, rather than only at the end 
of the year. 
 
There are three (3) types of reconciliations. One for 
writers, composers, and artists, one for Class A package 
and liquor stores, and one for general retailers.  The 
success of the introduction of Form RI-STR (Sales and 
Use Tax Return) eliminates the need for, and discontinues 
the use of, annual reconciliations (Form T-204R), for 
general retailers starting with Tax Year 2023. 
 
Please note, if you are delinquent on a prior-year filing, 
the annual reconciliation is still required for tax years prior to 2023. 
 
Class A package and liquor stores file T-204A and writers, composers, and artists file 
T-204W. Forms T-204A and T-204W remain required. Both forms are available in the 
“Forms” section of the Division’s website.  
 
For those filing a T-204A or T204W for Tax Year 2023, you must use the current year 
version of the form – the one for 2023. Do not use a prior-year form. Prior-year forms 
should only be used if the prior-year filing was delinquent or needs to be amended. 
Filers of the T-204A or T204W who are not subject to the electronic filing mandate 
(see below) will receive a mailing mid to end of December with the current version of 
the Annual Reconciliation pre-printed with their information on it. 
 
 
Electronic Mandate 
In accordance with changes signed into law in June of 2022, a larger business registrant 
will be required to use electronic means to file returns and remit taxes to the State of 
Rhode Island for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023.  
 
 

 
• Sales permit holders are no 

longer required to submit the 
return T-204R for tax years 
beginning in 2023. 
 

• Filers of T-204A (for liquor 
stores) and T-204W (for 
writers, composers, artists) are 
still required to file these 
annual reconciliation returns 
covering the 2023 calendar 
year. 
 

HIGHLIGHTS 

https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/sales-excise-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2021-09/adv_2021_33.pdf
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A "larger business registrant" is defined as any person who:  
• Operates as a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes 

administered by the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000; or  
• Operated as a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the 

entity.  
 
There are many ways for taxpayers to file electronically and make a payment 
online with the Division. The best way to do so is through the Division’s Taxpayer 
Portal.   
 
Taxpayers who need assistance filing or paying online can make an appointment to 
visit the Division offices for assistance. Division staff are happy to use the Self-Service 
Kiosk to show taxpayers how to set up their Portal account, make payments, and more. 
Taxpayers without regular access to a computer or the internet can use the Self-
Service Kiosk for any Taxpayer Portal activities.  
 
For questions regarding the Taxpayer Portal, or to schedule an appointment for in-
person assistance at the Division’s office, at One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, 
please contact the Division’s Taxpayer Portal Team at (401) 574-8484 
or taxportal@tax.ri.gov.  
  

 
Sales permit reminders 

• Sales Tax permits must be renewed each year.  
• The sales tax permit renewal deadline is February 1, 2024, for the period 

beginning July 1, 2024. 
• There is no longer a renewal fee for Rhode Island Sales Tax permits. 

Payments for renewals will not be accepted. 
• Renewed permits take effect July 1, 2024. The Division will mail renewed 

permits close to that date.  
• Renewed permits will cover the period from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 

2025.  
• To renew online, visit the Taxpayer Portal. Visit the Division’s website for a 

PDF copy of the paper renewal form.   
 
 
Forms and Questions   
Visit the Division’s dedicated Forms webpage at: https://tax.ri.gov/forms. 
 
You may also obtain forms in person by visiting the Division at One Capitol Hill in 
Providence. The office is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on business 
days. 
  
For more information about the discontinuation of Form T-204R, or about other 
matters involving sales and use taxes, contact the Division’s Excise Tax Section at: 
Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov, or by phone at (401) 574-8955 between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. 
on business days. 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the 
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of 
Taxation at (401) 574‐8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us. 
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