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Bi-annual application of consumer price index to Rhode Island Motor Fuel Tax  

Statutory formula determines future tax rate using inflation 
 

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has applied a statutory 
formula to determine the Rhode Island Motor Fuel Tax rate that will be in effect as of 
July 1, 2023. The Division is providing information regarding this most recent 
adjustment in advance of the July 1, 2023 effective date to allow stakeholders to take 
the necessary steps to accommodate the new rate. 
  
Pursuant to state law, every other year, the Division of Taxation must take the measure 
of inflation and use the number to adjust the Motor Fuel Tax for the following July.  
  
Accordingly, the Division this year has recorded the percentage of increase in inflation 
as of September 30, 2022 and has determined what the Motor Fuel Tax shall be 
effective July 1, 2023. The tax, commonly known as the gasoline tax or “gas tax”, is 
currently 34 cents a gallon. Based on the Division’s calculation, as required by statute, 
the tax will increase to 37 cents per gallon, effective July 1, 2023.  
  

Formula is applied once every two years  
The tax is set forth in Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-7 (“Monthly report of 
distributors – Payment of tax”). Legislation enacted on June 19, 2014, amended that 
statute by requiring that the tax be adjusted every two years based on inflation.   
  
Specifically, the statute as amended requires that, beginning July 1, 2015, and every 
other year thereafter, the Motor Fuel Tax must be adjusted by the percentage of 
increase, if any, in the consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U), as 
published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, determined as of September 30 of 
the prior calendar year. The adjustment must be rounded to the nearest one-cent 
increment.  

By statute, there is a time lag between when the measure of inflation is taken and 
when the adjusted Motor Fuel Tax rate takes effect. In this instance, inflation was 
measured by the Division as of September 2022. The effect of the Division’s calculation 
will not apply until several months following that measure, on July 1, 2023.  

Rhode Island Motor Fuel Tax – inflation adjustment  
EFFECTIVE DATE  CHANGE  TAX PER GALLON  
July 1, 2023 3-cent increase 37 cents  
July 1, 2021  no change  34 cents  
July 1, 2019  1-cent increase  34 cents  
July 1, 2017  no change  33 cents  
July 1, 2015  1-cent increase  33 cents  

By law, inflation formula is applied once every two years.  
First application of formula, for July 1, 2015, resulted in 1-cent-per-gallon increase, to 33 cents per gallon. Second 
application, for July 1, 2017, resulted in no change. Third application, for July 1, 2019, resulted in a 1-cent-per-gallon 
increase, to 34 cents. Fourth application, for July 1, 2021, resulted in no change. Fifth application, for July 1, 2023, 
resulted in a 3-cent-per-gallon increase, to 37 cents. 
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The Division of Taxation has determined that, based on an 8.2% increase in inflation as 
measured by the CPI-U for the applicable period ended September 30, 2022, the tax 
before the application of rounding will be 36.7880 cents a gallon, and the tax after the 
application of rounding will increase to 37 cents per gallon, effective July 1, 2023. (The 
rounding procedure is prescribed by statute.)  
 
  
Current overall Motor Fuel Tax in Rhode 
Island  
(in cents)  
State excise tax  34.00  
State environmental fee    1.00  
Federal excise tax  18.40  
Total federal and Rhode Island gas tax  53.40  
Source: American Petroleum Institute, as of October 2022.  

 
 
The biennial inflation adjustment for Motor Fuel will apply only to the 37-cent Rhode 
Island excise tax; it does not apply to the Rhode Island environmental protection 
regulatory fee, or to the federal excise tax (see table above).   
  
The Motor Fuel Tax applies to diesel and other taxable motor fuels that meet the 
definition of “fuels” under Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-1(4).  
  
The biennial inflation adjustment was enacted through Rhode Island Public Law 2014, 
chapter 145, article 21, § 4, and is codified at Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-7(b). 
The next measure of inflation for Rhode Island Motor Fuel Tax purposes will be based 
on the inflation as of the fall of 2024 and will apply for purposes of the Motor Fuel Tax 
beginning July 1, 2025.   
  
For questions about motor fuel taxes, contact the Division of Taxation’s Excise Tax 
Section by email at Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov, or by phone at (401) 574-8955 between 8:30 
a.m. and 3:30 p.m. business days. 
 
 
 
 

Overall  Motor Fuel Tax in Rhode Island  
(in cents) as of July 1, 2023 
State excise tax  37.00  
State environmental fee    1.00  
Federal excise tax  18.40  
Total federal and Rhode Island gas tax  56.40  
Source: American Petroleum Institute, as of October 2022.  

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the 
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation 
at (401) 574‐8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us. 
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