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Rhode Island families to start receiving Child Tax Rebate payments 

Checks will be issued throughout fall 2022 
 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Over 100,000 Rhode Island families will soon be receiving Child Tax 
Rebate payments to help with rising costs. Under the State’s Fiscal Year 2023 budget 
signed by Governor McKee in June 2022 and in accordance with Rhode Island General 
Laws § 44-30-103, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation is issuing rebate payments of 
$250 per qualifying child, up to a maximum of three children (maximum $750).  
  
Most qualifying families can expect to receive their payment before the end of 2022. 
Eligible taxpayers are those with a qualifying child1 that file as either: 

o Single, married filing separately, head of household, or qualifying 
widow/widower with a federal adjusted gross income of $100,000 or 
less; or  

o Married filing jointly with a federal adjusted gross income of $200,000 
or less. 

The Rhode Island Child Tax Rebate is not taxable for Rhode Island purposes and will 
be excluded from Rhode Island taxable income during the next filing season; however, 
it may be taxable on federal tax returns. It should not be included in the reported 
household income worksheet for any Rhode Island resident who qualifies for the 2022 
Rhode Island Property Tax Credit. The rebate also does not exclude taxpayers from 
qualifying for any income-based Rhode Island State aid programs.  

 
There is no need for you to apply for the Rhode Island Child Tax Rebate. Qualifying 
taxpayers will be determined by review of 2021 Personal Income tax return filings. The 
Division of Taxation will distribute Child Tax Rebate payments to the mailing address 

 
1 For the purposes of the Child Tax Rebate, a child is defined as an individual claimed as a dependent in Rhode 
Island who is eighteen years of age or under as of December 31, 2021. 

You likely qualify for the Child Tax Rebate if you: 

 Filed a 2021 Rhode Island personal income tax 
return; 

 Filed single with AGI under $100k or joint with AGI 
under $200k; 

 Are domiciled in Rhode Island; and 
 Had a child (or children) 18 or under as of December 

31, 2021. 
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on qualifying Rhode Island 2021 Personal Income Tax returns. All rebates will be sent 
by check.  

Taxpayers who filed their 2021 returns prior to August 31 will receive rebates during the 
first phase of mailings. For those filing on extension by the October 17, 2022 extended 
filing deadline, rebates will be issued starting in December 2022. 

Due to security processes, rebate checks will be issued on a rolling basis. Families will 
receive payments at staggered intervals – if you have not received your rebate payment 
but know someone who has, there is no cause for alarm. You can check your payment 
status on the Division of Taxation’s Child Tax Rebate webpage: 
www.tax.ri.gov/ChildTaxRebate2022 using the Where’s my Rebate tracking tool.  
 
If your mailing address or other information has changed since the filing of your return, 
please update your information with the Division by completing and submitting the 
Child Tax Rebate change of information form on the Division’s website 
(https://www.tax.ri.gov).  
 
For more information regarding the Child Tax Rebate, please visit: 
www.tax.ri.gov/ChildTaxRebate2022.  
 
Any specific questions related to the Child Tax Rebate may be directed to the Division’s 
Personal Income Tax Section at: (401) 574-8242, between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. 
business days, or by email at: Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov. 
 
 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the 
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation 
at (401) 574‐8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us. 
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