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ASSISTANT TAX ADMINISTRATOR RETIRES

]n 1973, the Vietnam
War was winding down,
the Watergate scandal was
heating up, and Mike
Canole was beginning a
career at the Rhode Island
Division of Taxation.

Over the next 47 years, he
rose through the ranks to
become the agency’s second
in command. He is now
retired; his last day on the
job was July 16, 2021.

“Mike has been a key part
of this agency during a
lengthy and accomplished
career,” said Rhode Island
Tax Administrator Neena
Savage.

“He has been a part of the
evolution and success of the
Division of Taxation and has
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Retiring: Assistant Tax Administrator Michael F. Canole (recently pictured
in his office, above) has retired from the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

been able to adapt, manage,
and succeed with the Divi-
sion over the years due to
his passion for his work, his
perpetual positive attitude

no matter the challenge, and

his keen insights and skills.”

(Please turn to page 3)

hen it comes to the

topic of taxation,
the personal income tax
may come to mind. So, too,
may the sales tax or the

corporate income tax.

But did you know that the
Rhode Island Division of
Taxation administers more
than 58 different taxes and
fees?

DID YOU KNOW?

Each of these taxes and fees
is set forth in law -- and the
Division is required, by law,
to administer them.

Overall, these taxes and
fees generate approximately
$3.5 billion in revenue each

year .

The Division does not keep
the money it collects. Ra-

ther, the Division distributes
the money. Most of it goes
into the State’s General
Fund. From there, the mon-
ey is used to help pay for
vital services - including
public safety, education,
transportation, and recrea-

tion.

(Please turn to page 4)

CHANGES IN RHODE
ISLAND TAX LAW

Several tax-related bills were
approved during the 2021
session of the Rhode Island
General Assembly, affecting
businesses, individuals, and
others. To learn more, see the
Division’s “Summary of Legis-
lative Changes” using the fol-
lowing link:

https://go.usa.gov/xFDEd

INSIDE THIS ISSUE:

NEW DIRECTOR

2
FOR DOR
FILING ON 5
EXTENSION
TAX PAYMENT 7
METHODS
‘LEGAL CORNER’ 8
‘PRACTITIONERS 10
CORNER’
CALENDAR FOR 11

SALES TAX



https://go.usa.gov/xFDEd

DIVISION OF TAXATION NEWSLETTER

~ July/August/September 2021 ~

PAGE 2

NEW DIRECTOR OF RHODE ISLAND DOR

Guﬂlermo L.
Tello was re-
cently appointed to
serve as Director of
the Rhode Island

Department of Rev-
enue.

He succeeds James
E. Thorsen, who
was appointed Di-
rector of the De-
partment of Admin-
istration.

Tello was nominat-
ed by Rhode Island
Governor Daniel ].
McKee, and his
appointment was
confirmed by the Rhode Is-
land Senate.

Tello, as DOR director,
oversees the Division of Taxa-
tion and several other agen-
cies.

“We’re building a team with
a history of public service and
sound financial experience,”
Governor McKee said in a
statement announcing the
appointment.

“Guillermo has worked ex-
tensively on helping govern-
ments manage their opera-
tions and identify risks to
their finances. I’'m confident
that Guillermo’s experience
both in New England and
abroad will serve him well as
Director of the Department
of Revenue.”

Worked in Jakarta

Tello came to the Depart-
ment of Revenue from Jakar-
ta, Indonesia, having served
there as an Advisor for the

DOR DIRECTOR GUILLERMO L. TELLO

U.S. Department of the
Treasury, where he was as-
signed to the Indonesian Gen-
eral Directorate of Treasury,
providing technical support on
treasury rnanagernent issues.
He previously served in the
same role to the National
Treasury of the Ministry of
Finance of the Dominican
Republic.

Banking background

Prior to joining the ULS.
Treasury, Tello served in the
banking industry for 19 years,
including positions at Bank-
Boston, Fleet Boston Finan-
cial, and Bank of America.
Tello also has served as a
board member of the CFA
Society of Boston.

“I'am fortunate to be coming
to Rhode Island at a time
when the tide is turning. I am
extremely upbeat about the
course Rhode Island is on and
the outlook for our econom-
ic/business climate, schools,
and infrastructure as we

emerge from the pan-
demic,” Tello said in a
statement.

“I am honored that the
governor has asked me
to serve the citizens of
Rhode Island and look
forward to accomplish-
ing this by fulfilling the
mission of the Depart-
ment of Revenue and
administering its pro-
grams,” he said.

Tello received an MBA
in Finance from the Uni-
versity of Rhode Island,
an MBA from the Uni-
versidad Autonoma de
Madrid, and a bachelor’s de-
gree in Business Administra-
tion from the Universidad Del
Pacifico. He holds the Char-
tered Financial Analyst®
(CFA™) designation and is a
CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLAN-
NER™ (CFP®) professional.

In June 2021, the Rhode Is-
land Senate Finance Commit-
tee recommended that the full
Senate give its advice and con-
sent to the nomination of Tel-
lo.

Unanimous vote

On June 24, 2021, the advice
and consent of the Senate was
given in a unanimous vote and
Tello officially assumed his
role as DOR Director.

The Rhode Island Depart-
ment of Revenue, based in
Providence, oversees the Divi-
sion of Motor Vehicles, the
Division of Lottery, the Divi-
sion of Municipa] Finance, the
Division of Taxation, the Of-
fice of Revenue Analysis, and
the Central Collections Unit.

P -
Z

E-file reminder

The Rhode Island Division
of Taxation this year accepts
the following returns under
its electronic filing program

(e-file):
¢ Form RI-1040
¢ Form RI-1040NR
¢ Form RI-1120C

¢ Form RI-1120S
¢ Form RI-1065
¢ Form RI-1041
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ASSISTANT TAX ADMINISTRATOR RETIRES (continuep rroM paGE 1)

Savage added, “With his
deep knowledge of taxation
and tax administration, he has
helped a countless number of
taxpayers, tax professionals,
and colleagues over the years.
He also became a go-to per-
son on many subject areas at
the Division.”

Newport native

One of five children, Mi-
chael F. Canole was born and
raised in Newport, Rhode
Island, where his father was a
police officer and his mother
taught in public schools.

After graduating from Rog-
ers High School, he attended
the University of Rhode Is-
land, where he was a member
of the indoor track, outdoor
track, and cross country
teams. To help pay for his
college education, he worked
summers as a laborer for what
is now the Newport Water
Division.

URI graduate

He graduated from URI in
1973 with a bachelor’s degree
in business administration,

concentrating in accounting.

He joined the Division of
Taxation, as an accountant, in
September 1973 -- when the
tax administrator was John H.
Norberg and the agency was
located on Promenade Street
in Providence. (The agency
moved to One Capitol Hill,
near the State House, in

1989.)

His first job was in the Ac-
counting section, recording
receipts and reconciling ac-

Testimony: Assistant Tax Administrator Michael F. Canole (above, left),

testifying before a House committee (along with Robert S. Hull, then-director of

the Department of Revenue) in January 2017.

counts. He was promoted to
Field Audit in 1976 as a reve-
nue agent, conducting sales
tax audits.

Several years later, he be-
came a multi-state tax audi-
tor, focusing on corporate tax
audits at out-of-state head-
quarters of major corpora-
tions.

When his schedule permit-
ted, he took night classes at
Bryant College (now Bryant
University) to prepare for the
Certified Public Accountant
exam. (The studies improved
his career prospects and aided
in his work, he later said.) He
passed the exam and was offi-
cially licensed as a CPA in
1985.

Moving up

In 1987, Canole was pro-
moted to the rank of principal
revenue agent in the Divi-
sion’s Personal Income Tax
section, helping to supervise
the section as well as assist the
chief in planning and organiz-
ing the daily work activity.

It was in 1992 that Canole
was elevated to the rank of

chief revenue agent, oversee-
ing the Personal Income Tax
section - a post he held for
about 16 years.

In 2008, he became chief of
examinations, third-in-
command at the agency. In
carly 2016, he became acting
assistant tax administrator,
then was formally named
assistant tax administrator in

June 2017.
Front Office work

While in the Division’s
Front Office, he aided in the
implementation of the agen-
cy’s new computer system;
provided testimony at State
House hearings; helped to
develop internal management
succession plans; interviewed
candidates for supervisory
positions; mentored younger
staff members; and served as
a Division liaison to other
State agencies and to the
General Assembly.

As part of his work, Canole
had oversight of Division
sections dealing with the per-
sonal income tax, corporate
income tax, excise taxes, and

estate tax. He also supervised

a review and overhaul of
the Division’s regulations.

As part of that months-
long effort, concluded in
2018, the Division changed
the format of its regulations
to conform with a uniform
state code (the Rhode Is-
land Code of Regulations).
Also as part of the project,
the Division reduced the
overall number of regula-
tions.

The regulatory project
included repealing outdat-
ed regulations and consoli-
dating a number of related
regulations into a single,
comprehensive regulation.

Tax preparers

Canole is well-known in
the local tax preparation
community and has made
numerous presentations
over the years at preparer
seminars sponsored or at-
tended by the Division.

Canole, who lives in
Cranston with his wife,
Mary, is recording secre-
tary of CPE Associates, a
nonprofit provider of con-
tinuing education services
for CPAs. He is also a
member of the Rhode Is-
land Association of Public
Accountants.

“We will miss him, but
we know that he will em-
brace this next chapter
with the same enthusiasm
and dedication that he ex-
emplifies every day,” Sav-
age said.
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DID YOU KNOW? (CONTINUED FRO

As most people know, the
Division administers the
Rhode Island personal in-
come tax. The agency re-
ceives and processes more
than 650,000 personal in-
come tax returns each year --
from residents and nonresi-
dents.

Following are just a few of
the other taxes and fees ad-
ministered by the Division as
required by State law:

0  Hotel tax.
¢ Bank excise tax.

O Compassion center sur-

charge.
Meals & beverage tax.
Motor fuel tax.

Beverage container tax.

S O O O

Tax on hard-to-dispose
materials.

0 Real estate conveyance

tax.

»3,
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Work: Most of the work done by the Rhode Island Division of Taxation is performed at the Powers

Building (above), also known as the Department of Administration (DOA) building, in Providence,

O Cigarette tax.

0 Other tobacco products
(OTP) tax.

“There’s a lot more to the
Division of Taxation than just
the income tax,” said Rhode
Island Tax Administrator
Neena Savage.

“For every tax or fee that
we administer, we typically
have to design and maintain

Rhode Island.

separate forms and instruc-
tions; update our high-
speed processing equip-
ment; issue or update regu-
lations; and provide guid-
ance to taxpayers, tax pro-
fessionals, tax software
companies, and others,” she
said.

“There’s a lot of work
behind every one of our
taxes and fees -- and that

work is done by a team of
hard-working and talented
individuals at the Rhode Is-
land Division of Taxation. It
is an honor to work with
them. And we are honored
to be able to do our share to
help keep the State of Rhode

Island running,” Savage said.

DEADLINE EXTENDED FOR CERTAIN NONPROFITS

Legislation enacted in the
2017 session of the Rhode
Island General Assembly
made two key changes when
it comes to certificates of
exemption.

" AsofJuly 1, 2017, sales
tax exemption certificates are
valid for four years from the
date of issuance.

® Sales tax exemption certif-
icates issued on or before July
1, 2017, expire on June 30,
2021.

However, pursuant to stat-
utory authority, and at the
request of Governor Daniel
J. McKee, to ensure as seam-
less a process as possible, the
Division has extended the
time for filing the renewal
form for an additional 60
days for qualifying organiza-
tions secking renewal of their
certificates of exemption.

All such renewals must be
submitted on or before Mon-
day, August 30, 2021. That

is, the deadline is extended

for all entities who were
issued an exemption cer-
tificate on or before Au-
gust 30, 2017, because the
2017 law requires that
such an exemption certifi-
cate expires after four
years.

To learn more:

https:/ /go.usa.gov/
x6GhU

To view the special
webpage on this topic,
scan the QR code nearby.
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PERSONAL INCOME TAX - FILING ON EXTENSION

Earlier this year, the Rhode
Island Division of Taxation
postponed the usual April 15
filing deadline to May 17.

Thus, personal income tax
returns and payments relat-
ing to the 2020 tax year were
due May 17, 2021.

What if you’re fﬂing on
extension this year? Normal-

ly, an extension gives you an
extra six months to file.

This time around, however,
the extension provides for a
total of approximately five
months.

Therefore, Rhode Island
personal income tax returns
that cover the 2020 tax year
and that are on extension are

due on October 15 (which
is the usual extended due

date).

In other words, even
though the original due date
of April 15 was postponed
until May of 2021, there
was no postponement of the
extended due date, which is
unchanged at October 15,
2021.

Remember: It’s an exten-
sion of the time to file, not of
the time to pay. If you did
not pay what you owe by the
deadline of May 17, 2021,
pay what you can as soon as
possible in order to limit late
charges.

If a business entity files on exten-
sion, which form should it use?

Please see table on next page.

RHODE ISLAND FREE FILE PROGRAM STILL AVAILABLE

Still haven’t filed your

Rhode Island personal income

tax return for the 2020 tax
year?

One option is to use the
Rhode Island Free File pro-
gram, which lets you prepare

your own federal and Rhode
Island returns online, and e-
file them, at no charge.

The Rhode Island Free File
program is available only
through the Rhode Island

Division of Taxation website.

Many, but not all, taxpayers
qualify for the free programs,

based on their income and/or

other criteria.

Review terms and condi-
tions of the Rhode Island
Free File program by using
the QR code on this page or
the following link:

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
misc/ efile.php

The free service is made

possible from Free File,
which is a partnership be-
tween the Internal Revenue
Service, the Rhode Island

Division of Taxation, a num-

ber of other states, and the
Free File Alliance.

The Free File Alliance is a
group of industry-leading
privatc—scctor tax prepara-
tion companies that have
agreed to provide free com-
mercial online tax prepara-
tion and electronic filing to

those taxpayers who qualify.

VITA sites

The Internal Revenue Ser-
vice has updated its website
to show which Volunteer
Income Tax Assistance
(VITA) sites in the Rhode
Island area are still open and
offering free tax preparation
for federal and state person-
al income tax returns. To

view:

https://go.usa.gov/x6ByG

YIRS



http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
https://go.usa.gov/x6ByG
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WHICH EXTENSION FORM SHOULD YOUR ENTITY USE?

Can’t make your usual filing
deadline? You can file for an
extension.

But which form should you
use? The Division of Taxa-
tion provides the following at
-a-glance table.

The table lists some com-
monly used extension forms
for a number of different
entities.

As a convenience, the first
column of the table lists not
only the entity itself, but also,
in parentheses, the annual re-
turn that the entity normally

files.

The second column shows
which extension form that
particular entity should file
(assuming that the entity secks
to file on extension).

Which extension form to use?+

ENTITY:

Political organization (filing on Form RI-1120POL)

Public service corporation gross earnings (Form T-72)

Bank institution excise (Form T-74)

Pass-through entity election (Form RI-PTE)

It should be noted that an
extension typically provides
an extension of the deadline to
file the return, not of the
deadline to pay the tax due.
Payments are still typically
due on the due date.

To view returns and extension
forms, please see the Divi-
sion’s website:

http: //www.tax.ri.gov/

USE THIS EXTENSION FORM:

Form BUS-EXT
Form BUS-EXT
Form BUS-EXT
Form BUS-EXT

C Corporation (Form RI-1120C) Form RI-7004
S corporation (Form RI-1120S) Form RI-7004
General partnership (Form RI-1065) Form RI-7004
Limited partnership (Form RI-1065) Form RI-7004
Limited liability partnership (Form RI-1065) Form RI-7004
Limited liability company (Form RI-1065) Form RI-7004
Single-member limited liability company (Form RI-1065) Form RI-7004
Sole proprietor (Form RI-1040) Form RI-4868
Estate/trust income tax (Form RI-1041) Form RI-8736

Pass-through withholding (Form RI-1096PT)

Composite income tax (Form RI-1040C)

Estate tax return (Form RI-100 or RI-100A)

* Individuals use Form RI-4868

Form RI-4868PT
Form RI-4868C
Form RI-4768
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HANDY WAYS TO MAKE YOUR TAX PAYMENTS

o N
Z

Following are some of the
options available for making
your Rhode Island State tax
payments.

Keep in mind that, as a gen-
eral rule, payments may be
made electronically, and re-
turns may be filed electroni-
cally. Following are some ex-
amples.

v" Portal

If you’re already registered
to use the Division of Taxa-
tion’s taxpayer portal, you
may use the portal to make
your tax payments - whether
for individual or business tax-
es. Use the QR code on this
page or the following link:
https: / /taxportal.ri.gov/

If you’re not already regis-
tered but want to use the tax-
payer portal to make future
payments, please use the fol-

lowing information.

To gain access to the taxpay-
er portal as a first-time user,
you must first obtain a PIN. If
you are interested in using the
taxpayer portal and obtaining a
PIN, please contact the Divi-
sion by phone at (401) 574-
8484 or by email:
taxportal@tax .Ti.gov.

Once you have your PIN, go

State of Rhode Island

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
HOME

User ID

please En

ter User ID

Password

Password

Forgot User ID7 Forgot password?

Create 3 New User

Division of Taxation

. i Popular Services
Customer support is available weekdays between 8:30am - 3:30pm at 401-574-

8484 or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax.ri.gov at any time.

Tax Forms

Scheduled maintenance will be done Monday nights from 8:00pm - 9:00pm. Administrative Decisions

During this time, the system will be unavailable. Please plan accordingly. advisaries

Where's My Refund
Sign In - Do you have a Taxpayer Portal User ID and Password?
« Yes, | Sign into the online services for the Taxpayer Portal
© Use the Member Sign In section to the left to access your account.
« No, | am a first time user to the Rhode Island Taxpayer Portal and do not have a
Taxpayer Portal User ID.
o Use the New User section to the left to create a new Taxpayer Portal user

Business Registration

Reports

Regulations
Newsletters
account. Contact Us

Liquor License Renewals - Cer
of Good Standing - NEW

Making Payments: There are many options for making Rhode Island tax payments. One of the most convenient

options is the Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s portal (see screenshot above). The portal is available for use by

individuals, businesses, and tax prgfe:siona]s. First-time users must register. For details, click on the “Create a New

User” link on the home page: https: / /taxportal.ri.gov/.

to the portal’s home page
and click on the “Create a
New User” link in order to
create a new user account
and register as a user. To go
directly to the “Create a
New User” section:

https:/ /go.usa.gov/std9

As part of the registration
process, you’ll use your PIN
to link your portal account
with the Division.

To view the taxpayer por-
tal’s user guide:
https://go.usa.gov/xsDd5

If you have questions about
the taxpayer portal, contact
the Division at (401) 574-
8484 or email:

taxportal@tax ri.gov

v Bill Pay

Your bank or credit union
may let you use its “bill pay”
feature to make tax pay-
ments. Check with your

financial institution to see if

v Pay by check
the payment can be made by

whatever your upcoming You still have the option

to pay by check. If you do,

deadline is. If so, please

remember to include as be sure that your check is

accompanied by a payment

much information as possi-

ble on the payment so that voucher. That way, your

payment will be propcrly

the amount is properly cred-

ited to your account. That and promptly credited to

way, you can avoid incur- your account. If you use

ring late chargcs. Also make tax preparation software,

sure that the payment goes or your preparer does, you

to the following address, not ~ may use the voucher pro-

to a post office box: Rhode vided b}’ the software pro-

Island Division of Taxation, gram. Or use the Divi-
One Capitol Hill, Provi-

dence, R.1. 02908.

sion’s voucher. Vouchers,
forms, instructions, and
other documents are avail-

able via the following link:

v Debit/Credit http://www.tax.ri.gov/
taxforms/ .

You can pay your balance
due by using a debit card or
credit card. A third-party

provider charges a fee for

Note: Please allow sufficient
processing timefor any payment,
no matter which payment method

the service. For more infor- you choose.

mation, use the following

link: http: //

www.tax.ri.gov/misc/

creditcard.php



https://taxportal.ri.gov/
mailto:taxportal@tax.ri.gov
https://taxportal.ri.gov/
https://taxportal.ri.gov/
https://go.usa.gov/xsDd9
https://go.usa.gov/xsDd5
mailto:taxportal@tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/
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Legal Corner

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY

Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are
public information, but taxpayer
information cannot be disclosed.

Personal income tax

At issue is whether the tax-
payer owes Rhode Island per-
sonal income tax for 2016.

On March 3, 2017, the tax-
payer filed a return for the
2016 tax year.

She had prepaid some of her
income tax for 2016 through
withholding, but there was

still a balance due, which she

did not pay.

The Division subsequently
mailed her a Notice of Defi-
ciency, which was later fol-
lowed by a Notice of Assess-
ment. The assessment includ-
ed tax, interest, and a late-
payment penalty. (The Divi-
sion did not assess a late-filing
penalty because she had filed

her return.)

Under Rhode Island General
Laws § 44-30-51, a taxpayer
is required to file a Rhode
Island personal income tax
return if the taxpayer was
required to file a federal in-
come tax return or had

Rhode Island income.

At the hearing the taxpayer
requested, it was undisputed
that the taxpayer was a Rhode
Island resident in 2016, re-
ceived income in 2016, and

Rhode Island Tax News pro-
vides only summaries of
some recent tax-case deci-
sions, which are based on
specific facts and circum-
stances.

The summaries are merely
informative and provide
general information. To
determine how state tax
laws and regulations apply
to your particular circum-
stances, please consult your
tax professional.

owed income tax in Rhode
Island in 2016.

On April 7, 2021, Hearing
Officer Catherine R. Warren
recommended a finding that
the taxpayer owes the as-
sessed income tax, interest,

and penalty for 2016.
On April 7, 2021, Tax Ad-

ministrator Neena S. Savage
adopted the hearing officer’s
decision and recommenda-
tion.

- Final Decision and Order
No. 2021-01

Historic tax credits

Did the Division correctly
deny the taxpayer’s historic
tax credits?

In August 2015, the taxpayer
entered into a contract with
the Division regarding the
receipt of tax credits under
the Historic preservation tax
credit program of 2013
(Rhode Island General Laws
Chapter 44-33.6).

The taxpayer was required to
begin substantial construction
on the project by July 17,
2016.

The taxpayer filed the re-
quired quarterly reports with
the Division to show that the
property in question was not
remaining idle. However, the
taxpayer did not provide sup-
porting documentation for
those reports, a Division chief
revenue agent testified.

The Division notified the tax-
payer that the taxpayer was
no longer eligible for the tax
credits because the project
had remained idle for more
than six months.

According to the Division,
the taxpayer had informed the
Division that it was harvesting
lumber on another property
that was 12 minutes away
from the property in ques-
tion. Even so, the Division
said, any lumber work per-
formed would not have been
on-site and would therefore
have been insufficient under
the statute.

(Please turn to next page)

Tax hearings

Any taxpayer aggrieved by
the action of the Tax Divi-
sion in determining the
amount of tax, surcharge,
or penalty, may make writ-
ten request for a formal

hearing.

The taxpayer is first afford-
ed an opportunity to have a
preliminary review
(“preliminary conference”).
Should the matter not be
resolved, it may then pro-
ceed to formal hearing un-
der the terms of the state
Administrative Procedures
Act (Rhode Island General
Laws § 42-35-1 et seq.) and
Tax Division regulation 280-

RICR-20-00-2.

If not satisfied with the
outcome, the taxpayer may
appeal to Sixth Division
District Court (Rhode Is-
land General Laws § 8-8-24

et seq.).



http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2021/2021_01_Corrected_Decision.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2021/2021_01_Corrected_Decision.pdf
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Bill signing: Rhode Island Governor Daniel . McKee (seated) joined Rhode Island General Assembly leaders and
others to sign into law Rhode Island’s State budget for the year that will end June 30, 2022. The “budget bill” con-

tained a number of State tax-law changes. To view a summary: https://go.usa.gov/xFDEd

Legal Corner

STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY rom PREVIOUS PAGE)

In her decision,
the hearing of-
ficer said it was
undisputed that
the taxpayer’s
project remained
idle for more
than six months.

The taxpayer did file the

required quarterly reports

with the Division, but those

reports lacked the requisite
documentation, the hearing
officer found.

Furthermore, the

taxpayer failed to

provide documen-

tation to the Di
sion despite re-
quests from the

Division.

By statute and
regulation, when a project
remains idle for more than
six months, the tax credits
are null and void.

Vi-

On June 28, 2021, the hear-

ing officer recommended a

finding that the taxpayer’s
historic preservation tax
credits are deemed to be null
and void. On June 29, 2021,
the tax administrator adopted
the hearing officer’s decision

and recommendation.

- Final Decision and Order
No. 2021-02

L
>
Tax tip line

If you have information about
wrongdoing involving state
taxes, call the tax fraud tip

line at (401) 574-TIPS or
(401) 574- 8477 and leave a
message. The line is staffed by

the Rhode

Island Division of Taxation’s
Special Investigation Unit,
which follows up on all tips.
Callers can leave their names
and contact information or
remain anonymous. You may

also leave your tip online.



http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2021/2021_02.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2021/2021_02.pdf
https://rigov.wufoo.com/forms/report-rhode-island-tax-fraud/
https://go.usa.gov/xFDEd
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Practitioners’ Corner
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES
Q: My clients filed their accurate return for each include the “Explanation of
Rhode Island personal person. Changes” supplemental page:
income tax return for . e include all of L 7, /<H
2020 using the “married }i)r e);ar(rilple, inc u elad (:1 ttps://go.usa.gov/xrigev
filing jointly” filing sta- the sche ule? you meiude Note: If you use the “married
on your original return — - » e
tus. They both now want filing separately” filing status,
whether they have changed About

to change to the
“married
filing sep-
arately”
filing sta-
tus. Based
on the
statutes, I
know I
can file an
amended
return for
them. Is there anything
else I need to know?

There used to be one form for
filing a Rhode Island personal
income tax return, another
form for filing an amended
return. No 1ongcr. Nowa-
days, to file an amended
Rhode Island return, use
Form RI-1040 (or Form RI-
1040NR for nonresidents/
part-year residents). Fill it out
as if you were doing your
Rhode Island personal income

tax return all over again.

Just make sure to first check
the “Amended Return” box
toward the top of the front
page of the return.

Also, in addition to recalcu-
lating cach amended return
based on the new filing status
(and any other factors), re-
member to take all of the
steps you normally would in

order to file a complete and

or not — in-
cluding Sched-
ule W and
Schedule E.

If the taxpayer
(and depend-
ents, if appli-
cable) had
sufficient
health insur-
ance coverage
for all of 2020 — through
employer-sponsored health
insurance, the federal Medi-
care health insurance pro-
gram, or some other means
— remember to check the
box on the front of your
return indicating that the
taxpayer had such coverage

for all of 2020.

If the taxpayer (or depend-
ents, if applicable) did not
have sufficient health insur-
ance coverage for all of
2020, the taxpayer may be
subject to a penalty. The
taxpayer may be able to lim-
it the impact of the penalty —
or avoid it altogether — if the
taxpayer qualifies for an ex-
emption. See the forms and
instructions for details —
especially Form IND-
HEALTH and its instruc-

tions. Also, remember to

you must use it on both your
federal and Rhode Island re-

turn. To learn more:

‘Practitioners’ Corner’

The “Practitioners’ Cor-
ner” feature provides gen-
eral answers to some of
the questions that the Tax
Division encounters
through the normal course

https://go.usa.gov/xFZmZ

Q: My client obtained a
federal employer identifi-
cation number (EIN)
from the Internal Reve- of business.
nue Service and regis-
tered with the Rhode Is-

land Secretary of State as

The answers are intended
solely to provide general
information. They do not
represent formal guidance,
and are not substitutes for
Rhode Island General Laws,
Tax Division regulations, or
Tax Division rulings.

a single-member limited
liability company
(SMLLC). The taxpayer
provides seed money for
business start-ups. I be-
lieve the taxpayer is re-

quired to file an annual
tax return with the
Rhode Island Division of
Taxation even though the
only income earned will
be capital gains if the
start-ups are successful.
Am I correct? Or can the
taxpayer forgo the annual
tax return filing with the
Division?

Limited liability companies
(LLCs) are required under
Rhode Island law to file an
annual return with the Rhode
Island Division of Taxation
and pay an annual tax or fee.
Which form to file, and which
tax/fee to pay, depends upon
the LLC.

(Please turn to next page)



https://go.usa.gov/xHgev
https://go.usa.gov/xFZmZ
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Practitioners’ Corner

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT

If the LLC is treated as a pass-
through entity and not as a

Also, the filing and payment
requirements apply for any

corporation for federal tax full or partial year in which
purposes, it must file Form RI  the business is in existence,
-1065 and pay an annual fee, including the year in which
also known as an annual the business is formed and
charge. the year in which the busi-

If the LLC is treated as a cor- ness dissolves.
poration for federal tax pur- We have a handy, at-a-
poses, it must file Form RI- glance guide that explains, in
1120C each year and pay the summary, the Rhode Island
Rhode Island corporate in- tax-and-filing obligations of

come tax. LLCs:

The Rhode Island
filing and pay-

https:/ /go.usa.gov/
XHgta

We also have a

ment require-

If[.leliltsh summa—1 handy, at-a-glance
rized here apply guide that explains,

not only to multi-
member LLCs,
but also to single-member
LLCs (SMLLCs).

in summary, the
Rhode Island tax-

STATE TAXES (CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE)

and—filing obligations of vari-

ous entities, not just LLCs:

https://go.usa.gov/xHgt2

Q: My client will be filing

on extension this year

Cl

Change of address
change of name

and his return will in-
clude unemployment
benefits received in 2020.
How are those benefits
treated for Rhode Island

personal income tax pur-

Have you changed your name
or address? Don’t forget to
let the Rhode Island Division
of Taxation know. That way,
yoU'll be sure to receive any
refunds, notices, or other
mailings in your correct
name and at your correct
address. Whether you’re an
individual, a married couple,
a business, or other entity,
let the Division know if
you’ve changed your name or
address (or both) by using
Form RI-COl, “Change of
Name or Address Form”,

poses?

Include unemployment bene-
fits as income for Rhode Is-
land personal income tax pur-

poses.
For more information:

https://go.usa.gov/xF49n

RHODE ISLAND SALES TAX FILING CALENDAR FOR 2021

The Rhode Island Division
of Taxation has posted a

0 meals and beverage tax;

handy calendar showing the 0 hotel tax;
dates on which sales tax is
due during the 2021 calen-

dar year.

O prepaid wireless tax;

{0 Form RI-8478 residential

dwclling tax;

For example, for sales tax

collected on taxable sales ¢ tax on hard—to—dispose mate-

made in July 2021, the calen-
dar shows the due date of

August 20, 2021.

rials;
O health care tax;

0 beverage container tax; and

The filing calendar also
shows due dates for business- O real estate conveyance tax.

es to remit certain other To view or download the

types of taxes with the Divi- calendar, use the QR code on

sion, including: this page, or use the following

available on the Division’s
website:
§ One version of the form can
be printed out and then filled
link:

in:

https://go.usa.gov/xHgtW

https://go.usa.gov/x6ZRB

To view other sales and
§ The other version is known
as a “fillable” form and can be
filled in on your computer,

excise tax forms:

http://www.tax.ri.gov/

taxforms/sales excise/ then printed out:

© O]

https://go.usa.gov/xHgtK

Of



https://go.usa.gov/xHgta
https://go.usa.gov/xHgta
https://go.usa.gov/xHgtW
https://go.usa.gov/xHgtK
https://go.usa.gov/xHgt2
https://go.usa.gov/xF49n
https://go.usa.gov/x6ZRB
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/
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Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Division of Taxation

NEWSLETTER POLICY

Rhode Island Tax News is a newsletter from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue’s Division of Taxation. It is typically published each
quarter. Its purpose is to provide taxpayers and tax professionals with general information regarding Rhode Island tax laws, regulations, and
rulings, and procedures. It is neither designed nor intended to address complex issues in detail. Nothing contained in this newsletter in any

way alters or otherwise changes any provisions of the Rhode Island General Laws, regulations of the Tax Division, or formal rulings. The

Tax Division is at One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908. Its website is www.tax.ri.gov.

HOW TO SUBSCRIBE

Rhode Island Tax News is distributed free, by e-mail, to those who have joined our listserv. If you are not on our listserv but would like to
join, send an email to Neil. Downing@tax.ri.gov with the word SUBSCRIBE in uppercase in the subject block.

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS

Unless otherwise indicated, all articles and photos in this issue are by the newsletter’s editor, Neil Downing. If you have comments or sug-
gestions for Rhode Island Tax News, please email: Neil. Downing(@tax.ri.gov

BACK ISSUES

Rhode Island Tax News back issues are on the Tax Division website: www.tax.ri.gov

How to contact us

Taxpayers may contact the Division of Taxation
online, by phone, by letter, or in person.
(Hours of operation are typically 8:30 a.m. to 3:30

p-m. business days.)

Website
www.tax.ri.gov

(For numbers and e-mail addresses for specific sec-
tions, click the “Contact us” link.)

Mailing address
Rhode Island Division of Taxation
One Capitol Hill
Providence, R.1. 02908

Telephone
Phone: (401) 574-8829
Fax: (401) 574-8917

>
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The Division also thanks Department (yF Revenue Director Guillermo L. Tello,
Hearing Officer Catherine R. Warren, and retired Assistant Tax Administrator
Michael F. Canole for their assistance.
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Note: Several illustrations in this issue of the newsletter are used under Creative Commons licenses.



http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

