
sponsored health insurance, 
Medicaid, Medicare, TRI-
CARE, or some other 
means -- and will not have 
to pay the penalty. 
 
If you do not have such cov-
erage in 2020, and do not 
have an exemption, you will 
face a Rhode Island personal 
income tax penalty in 2021. 
 

(Please turn to page 2) 

T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation re-

minds tax professionals and 
taxpayers that Rhode Is-
land’s new health insurance 
mandate is now in effect. 
 
  It is the result of a pro-
posal by Governor Gina M. 
Raimondo, approved by the 
General Assembly, and 
signed into law in July 

2019. Under the legislation 
as enacted, all Rhode Is-
landers as of January 1, 
2020, must have sufficient 
health coverage (also known 
as “minimum essential cov-
erage”). Otherwise, they 
face a penalty. 
 
  Most people have mini-
mum essential coverage -- 
through employer-

WHAT ’S NEW FOR TAX YEAR 2020 

HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATE IN EFFECT 

There is a new health insur-
ance mandate now in effect 
in Rhode Island (see article 
below).  

  The year 2020 has also 
ushered in some changes 
involving withholding — 
including a reduction in the 

number of filing frequencies 
and mandatory electronic 
filing for a number of em-
ployers. 

  In addition, the taxable 
wage base for Rhode Is-
land’s temporary disability 
insurance (TDI) program 
has been set, as has been the 
base for the unemployment 
insurance tax. 

  Meanwhile, the threshold 
for Rhode Island’s estate tax 
has increased for 2020, 
meaning that fewer estates 
will be subject to the tax, 
leaving more assets available 
for heirs and other benefi-
ciaries. These are among the 
topics covered in this issue 
of Rhode Island Tax News. 

RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION 
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RHODE ISLAND TAX NEWS 

ABOUT THIS ISSUE 

 

This issue of Rhode Island Tax 

News focuses on what’s new 

for the 2020 tax year, and 

also includes regular fea-

tures, such as “Practitioners’ 

Corner” and “Legal Corner.” 
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State House: Legislation approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly in 
2019 included many changes to Rhode Island’s tax laws, some of which are now 
in effect and summarized in this edition of Rhode Island Tax News. 
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TAX YEAR 2020 :  HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATE  (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1) 

  The penalty is payable when 
you file your Rhode Island 
return for the 2020 tax year. 
 
  The penalty is calculated as 
either 2.5% of your yearly 
household income or $695 
per person and an additional 
$347.50 per child under age 
18, whichever amount is 
higher. 
 

⬧ Using the percentage meth-
od, only the part of your 
household income that’s 
above the yearly tax filing 
requirement (as defined be-
low) is counted. 
 

⬧ Using the per-person meth-
od, you pay only for people in 
your household who don’t 
have insurance coverage. 
 
  If the income percentage 
method is higher, the maxi-
mum penalty can be no more 
than the cost of the total an-
nual premium for an average 
bronze plan sold through 
Rhode Island’s health insur-
ance exchange, known as 
HealthSource RI. 
 
  If you have coverage for part 
of the year, the penalty is one
-twelfth of the annual amount 
for each month that you (or 
your tax dependents) don’t 
have coverage. (One short 
gap in coverage does not 
count against you. If you’re 
uninsured only one or two 
consecutive months, you 
don’t have to pay the penalty 
at all.) 
 

Please keep the following 
points in mind: 
 

⬧ What happens if you do 
not file a Rhode Island per-
sonal income-tax return but 
your income exceeds the tax 
filing threshold? If you fail to 
file and you owe tax, you 
will be subject to a late-filing 
penalty, late-payment penal-
ty, and interest that current-
ly accrues at a rate of 18%. 
The Division of Taxation 
will issue a bill. 
 

⬧ If your household income 
is lower than the tax filing 
threshold, your household is 
not required to pay a penalty 
for not having health cover-
age. The tax-filing threshold 
is the standard deduction for 
your filing status plus 
$4,150 per exemption for 
the 2020 tax year. As an 
example, a married couple 

filing jointly with two chil-
dren (or dependents) would 
have a standard deduction of 
$17,800 plus $16,600 in 
exemptions ($4,150 times 4 
exemptions). Thus, the tax-
filing threshold for this fami-
ly would be $34,400. 
 
  The mandate applies only 
to Rhode Island residents and 
part-year residents, not to 
nonresidents. 
 
  To learn more about health 
insurance options, contact  
Rhode Island’s health insur-
ance exchange --
HealthSource RI.  
 
  To learn more about Rhode 
Island’s new health coverage 
mandate (sometimes called 
the health insurance mandate 
or individual mandate), click 
here. 
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Interview: On January 2, 2020, Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena Savage (above, left) was 
interviewed by Bill Rappleye (above, right), a reporter at the time for WJAR-TV (NBC 10), regarding 

the health insurance mandate which had just taken effect. 

 

Exemptions 

  

    Under Rhode Island’s new 

law, if you don’t have suffi-

cient health coverage, and 

you don’t have an exemp-

tion, you face a penalty 

when you file your Rhode 

Island personal income tax 

return. 

    The information on this 

page provides a brief, gen-

eral summary of the health 

insurance mandate, the 

penalty, and related topics. 

    A table on the following 

page provides preliminary 

information about the ex-

emption. Please note that 

the details about exemp-

tions and the exemption 

process are still being 

worked out. Also please 

note that the penalty is not 

payable until early 2021. 

https://healthsourceri.com/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/healthcoveragemandate/index.php
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FOR PLANNING PURPOSES: 

                             EXEMPTIONS TO THE HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATE
* 

Exemption: Description: 
How to claim or apply for exemption 

in 2021 (for 2020 tax year)* 

Hardship 
You experienced a hardship that prevented you from 

obtaining coverage under a qualified health plan. 

  

Apply through HealthSource RI in 2021 

Members of certain reli-

gious sects 
You are a member of a recognized religious sect. Apply through HealthSource RI in 2021 

Coverage considered unaf-

fordable based on project-

ed income 

HealthSource RI determined that you didn’t have access 

to coverage that is considered affordable based on your 

projected household income. 

Apply through HealthSource RI in 2021 

Certain Medicaid programs 

that are not minimum 

essential coverage 

You were (1) enrolled in Medicaid coverage provided to 

a pregnant woman that isn’t recognized as minimum 

essential coverage; (2) enrolled in Medicaid coverage 

provided to a medically needy individual that isn’t recog-

nized as minimum essential coverage; or (3) enrolled in 

Medicaid coverage provided to a medically needy indi-

vidual and were without coverage for other months 

because the spend-down had not been met. 

Apply through HealthSource RI in 2021 

Part-year Rhode Island 

Resident 

You were a bona fide resident of another state for part 

of the year and are exempt for months in which you 

were not a Rhode Island resident. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

Members of a health care 

sharing ministry 
You were a member of a health care sharing ministry. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

Members of Indian tribes 

You were either a member of a federally recognized 

Indian tribe, including an Alaska Native Claims Settle-

ment Act (ANCSA) Corporation Shareholder (regional 

or village), or you were otherwise eligible for services 

through an Indian health care provider or the Indian 

Health Service. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

Incarceration 
You were in a jail, prison, or similar penal institution or 

correctional facility after the disposition of charges. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

Aggregate self-only cover-

age considered unafforda-

ble 

Two or more family members’ aggregate cost of self-

only employer-sponsored coverage was more than 

8.24% of household income for 2020 (indexed annually 

by federal regulation), as was the cost of any available 

employer-sponsored coverage for the entire family. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

Member of tax household 

born or adopted during 

the year 

The months before and including the month that an 

individual was added to your tax household by birth or 

adoption. You should claim this exemption only if you 

also are claiming another exemption on your Rhode 

Island personal income tax return. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

Member of tax household 

died during the year 

The months after the month that a member of your tax 

household died during the year. You should claim this 

exemption only if you also are claiming another exemp-

tion on your Rhode Island personal income tax return. 

Claimed on Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return in 2021 

* This table is adapted from the individual mandate FAQs on the HealthSource RI website and is provided here merely for planning purposes. Keep in mind that the 

penalty and exemption rules apply for the 2020 tax year. Thus, the penalty will not appear on Rhode Island personal income tax returns until early 2021, covering the 

2020 tax year. 



   

 

 

Tax tip line 

 
If you have information 

about wrongdoing involving 

Rhode Island state taxes, 
call the tax fraud tip line at 

(401) 574-TIPS or (401) 574

- 8477 and leave a message. 
The line is staffed by the 
Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation’s Special Investiga-
tion Unit, which follows up 
on all tips. Callers can leave 

their names and contact 

information or remain 
anonymous. To use the 

online fraud-reporting form, 

click here. 
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TAX YEAR 2020 :  EMPLOYER WITHHOLDING TAX 

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation reminds employers 
about changes involving em-
ployer withholding tax which 
took effect January 1, 2020. 

  Rhode Island reduced the 
number of filing frequencies 
for certain taxpayers, and 
mandated electronic filings 
for certain taxpayers.   

  The  changes  are  intended  
to  more  closely  align  
Rhode Island’s withholding 
regime with  that  of  the  
Internal  Revenue  Service  
and  some  states,  thus  sim-
plifying  the  process  for em-
ployers, payroll service pro-
viders, bookkeepers, and oth-
ers. 

Frequency 

  To simplify the require-
ments concerning large with-
holding taxpayers, effective 
January 2020, the “weekly” 
payment frequency for sub-
mitting withheld tax to the 
Division of Taxation has re-
placed the current “quarter-
monthly” and “daily” frequen-
cies. 

  Under the “weekly” filing 
frequency, all payroll occur-
ring in a given week is now 
due  on  the business day fol-
lowing the end of the week. 
In other words, the withheld 
tax must be remitted on the  
Monday  (or Tuesday, if the 
Monday  is  a recognized holi-
day)  of  the following week. 
(See table nearby, which 
shows Monday holidays in 

2020. When those Monday 
holidays occur, withholding 
is due the following day.)  

  There is no change in the 
remittance schedule for 
those that remit monthly 
and those that remit quarter-
ly. 

Paying electronically 

  Beginning in January 2020, 
every employer that’s re-
quired to deduct and with-

hold Rhode Island personal 
income tax –and that had 
an average tax amount of 
$200 or more per month 
for the previous calendar 
year – must file a return 
and remit the payments by 
electronic funds transfer 
(or by other electronic 
means as defined by the 
Division of Taxation). To 
pay via the Division’s por-
tal, click here. 
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Certain holidays in 2020 

(For employers on the weekly payment frequency schedule for 

withholding purposes, payments are normally due on following 

Monday. If payment date falls on a federal or Rhode Island holi-

day, due date moves to next business day, as shown below.) 

HOLIDAY DUE DATE 

Monday, January 20             

(Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) 

Tuesday, January 21 

Monday, February 17 

(Washington’s Birthday) 

Tuesday, February 18 

Monday, May 25              

(Memorial Day) 

Tuesday, May 26 

Saturday, July 4            

(Independence Day, celebrated 

by State on Monday, July 6) 

Tuesday, July 7 

Monday, August 10        

(Victory Day) 

Tuesday, August 11 

Monday, September 7               

(Labor Day) 

Tuesday, September 8 

Monday, October 12 

(Columbus Day) 

Tuesday, October 13  

To view full schedule for all payment frequencies, click here. 

  Starting in 2020, the with-
holding tax return that em-
ployers file with the Division 
-- Form RI-941 (“Employer’s 
Quarterly Tax Return and 
Reconciliation”) -- is due on a 
quarterly basis. 

  All  employers – regardless  
of  how  often  they  must 
remit withholding – must 
submit Form RI-941 once a 
quarter.  

  Form RI-941 will be due on 
the last day of the month fol-
lowing each quarter, with the 
first due date of April 30, 
2020.  

https://rigov.wufoo.com/forms/report-rhode-island-tax-fraud/
https://taxportal.ri.gov/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/Payment%20Calendar%202020%20v4.pdf
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NEW CHIEF NAMED FOR PERSONAL & CORPORATE TAX 

  Carlita Annicelli has been 
promoted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of chief revenue agent of 
the Division’s Personal & 
Corporate Income Tax unit. 

  She formerly served as a 
supervising revenue officer in 
the Division’s Compliance & 
Collections unit. 

  “Carlita’s experience, pro-
fessionalism, and dedication 
to the Division of Taxation’s 
mission are the basis for her 
promotion,” said Rhode Is-
land Tax Administrator 
Neena Savage. 

  “She has consistently taken 
on more responsibility and 
worked collaboratively with 
her peers to improve the Di-
vision. I look forward to Car-
lita’s expanded leadership 
role and the impact it will 
have on our team,” Savage 
said. 

First generation 

  Carlita (Amorita) Annicelli 
was born and raised in Paw-
tucket, Rhode Island, and is a 
first-generation American: 
her father is a native of Pana-
ma and her mother, of Cape 
Verdean descent, was born in 
Senegal. She grew up speak-
ing English in a household 
where Spanish and French 
were also spoken. 

  She attended St. Mary Acad-
emy-Bay View, in Riverside, 
Rhode Island, graduating in 
2001. During her senior year, 
as part of Bay View’s “school-
to-career” program, she took 

classes four days a week and 
worked the fifth day as a  
clerk in the legal department 
at Textron Financial Corp.’s 
Providence office. In addi-
tion, she worked as a part-
time cashier for Honey Dew 
Donuts, mainly at the store 
on Atwood Avenue in 
Cranston, Rhode Island. 

  From the fall of 2001 to the 
spring of 2002, she studied at 
Roger Williams University in 
Bristol, Rhode Island, while 
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continuing to work at Tex-
tron Financial and at Honey 
Dew. She then left school to 
work full-time as a Honey 
Dew manager. In 2005, she 
married Paul Annicelli. In 
2006, she gave birth to their 
daughter and left work to 
spend time raising her at 
home. 

VITA volunteer 

  In 2007, she returned to 
school, studying full-time at 
Johnson & Wales University 

in Providence, from which 
she graduated in 2011 with 
a bachelor’s degree in ac-
counting. While there, she 
worked with the Internal 
Revenue Service’s Volun-
teer Income Tax Assistance 
program, also known as 
VITA. 

  Shortly thereafter, she 
joined the Division of Tax-
ation, first as a revenue 
officer in the Compliance 
& Collections unit, then as 
a revenue agent in what is 
now the Personal & Cor-
porate Income Tax unit. 

  Further studies 

  It was during her early 
years at the Division that 
she furthered her studies at 
Johnson & Wales, graduat-
ing in 2013 with a master’s 
degree in business admin-
istration with a concentra-
tion in accounting. 

  At the Division, she was 
promoted to supervising 
revenue officer in the 
Compliance & Collections 
unit and led the unit’s sales 
block program. In Novem-
ber 2019, she was promot-
ed to her current post, 
where she reports to Leo 
Lebeuf, chief, Tax Assess-
ment & Review. 

  A Pawtucket resident, 
she has been a member of 
the parent teacher associa-
tion at Bay View for the 
past 10 years. She has also 
served as president of her 
daughter’s Greater Provi-
dence Youth Hockey team.  

Promotion: Pawtucket native Carlita Annicelli has been promoted at the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation to the rank of chief revenue agent of the 

Division’s Personal & Corporate Income Tax unit. 



 

Reminder 
 

 

 
 
 
 

 

First-quarter estimated pay-
ments of Rhode Island per-

sonal income tax — for the 
2020 tax year — are due on 

or before April 15, 2020. 
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TAX YEAR 2020 :  TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE (TDI) 

  The taxable wage base for 
Rhode Island’s temporary 
disability insurance (TDI) tax 
will be $72,300 for 2020, 
compared with $71,000 for 
2019, an increase of $1,300, 
or 1.83%. 

  The “taxable wage base” is 
the amount of an employee’s 
wages to which the TDI tax is 
applied.  

  For 2020, the TDI tax rate 
will be 1.3%, compared with 
1.1% for  2019.   

  Thus, the maximum TDI  
tax will be $939.90 for 2020,  
compared with $781 for 
2019, an increase of $158.90, 
or 20.35%. 

  (Whether the amount of 
TDI tax goes up or down –or 
stays the same –for any par-
ticular individual will general-
ly depend on how much the 
individual earns.) 

  In general, TDI tax is paid 
by private-sector workers 
who work in Rhode Island. 
The TDI program is admin-
istered by the Rhode Island 

Department of Labor and 
Training; the tax is collected 
by the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation. 

  TDI taxes paid by workers 

Extension for tax credit programs 

  As a result of legislation ap-
proved by the Rhode Island 
General Assembly and signed 
into law by Rhode Island Gov-
ernor Gina M. Raimondo in 
July 2019, several Rhode Is-
land tax credit, incentive, and 
related programs that were 
scheduled to sunset on June 
30, 2020, have been extended 
by six months. 

    The programs whose sun-
sets have been extended out 

to December 31, 2020, in-
clude the following:  

⬧ The “Rhode Island Tax 
Increment Financing” pro-
gram, under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 42-
64.21. 

⬧ The “Stay Invested in RI 
Wavemaker Fellowship” 
program, under Rhode Is-
land General Laws Chapter 
42-64.26. 

Year Tax rate Wage base Max. tax 

2020 1.3% $72,300 $939.90 

2019 1.1% $71,000 $781.00 

2018 1.1% $69,300 $762.30 

2017 1.2% $68,100  $817.20 

2016 1.2% $66,300 $795.60 

2015 1.2% $64,200 $770.40 

2014 1.2% $62,700 $752.40 

2013 1.2% $61,400 $736.80 

2012 1.2% $60,000 $720.00 

2011 1.3% $58,400 $759.20 

2010 1.2% $57,900 $694.80 

2009 1.5% $56,000 $840.00 

2008 1.3% $54,400 $707.20 
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are deposited in a trust fund, 
from which TDI benefits are 
paid. 

  The TDI program generally 
pays benefits for unemploy-
ment caused by injury or ill-
ness unrelated to work.  

  A related program, also 
funded through TDI, is tem-
porary caregivers insurance 
(TCI). 

  In general, TCI can provide 
eligible claimants with up to 
four weeks  of  caregiver  
benefits  to  care  for  a  seri-
ously  ill  child,  spouse,  do-
mestic  partner,  parent, par-
ent-in-law, or grandparent, 
or to bond with a newborn 
child, newly adopted child, or 
new foster-care child. 

  To learn more about the TDI 
program, see the DLT website.  

  Employers can learn more about 
employer taxes at the Division of 
Taxation website. 

⬧ The “Rhode Island New 
Qualified Jobs Incentive” pro-
gram under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-
48.3. 

  More information about the 
programs is available on the 
Rhode Island Commerce Cor-
poration website. To view, 
click here. 

http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
http://www.uitax.ri.gov/
http://www.uitax.ri.gov/
https://commerceri.com/
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TAX YEAR 2020: UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX  

  The taxable wage base for 
Rhode Island’s state unem-
ployment insurance tax (UI) 
is $24,000 for 2020  for  most 
employers, compared  with  
$23,600 in 2019, an increase  
of $400, or approximately 
1.7 percent.  

  (“Taxable wage base” gener-
ally means the amount of an 
employee’s wages to which 
the tax rate applies.) 

  However, the tax rate 
schedule which employers 
will use in their calculations 
will change, ushering in a 
reduced range of tax rates:  

  In 2019, employers used 
Schedule G. In 2020, employ-
ers will use Schedule F. Thus, 
the experience rating sched-
ules, previously ranging from 
1.1% to 9.7% in 2019 under 
schedule G (including the 
assessment and adjustment for 
the Job Development Fund), 
will be reduced to 0.9% to 
9.4% in 2020 under schedule 
F. 

  A separate, higher taxable 
wage base applies for employ-

ers who have experienced 
considerable unemployment 
–and who therefore have 
used the UI system’s re-
sources the most and are 
taxed at the highest state UI 
tax rate. For those employ-
ers, the taxable wage base 
will be $25,500 for 2020, 
up from $25,100 for 2019, 
an increase of $400, or 
1.59%.  

  In general, the higher wage 
base is intended to help off-
set the large drain that these 
employers have on the 
state’s unemployment insur-
ance trust fund. 

  The job development as-
sessment will remain at 
0.21% for 2020. 

  The state unemployment 
insurance system’s taxable 
wage base represents the 
maximum amount of an em-
ployee’s wages that are sub-
ject to the state UI tax. The 
taxable wage base is set by 
law at 46.5 percent of the 
average annual wage in 
Rhode Island.  In general, 
assessments on  employers in 
the state go into the state’s 
unemployment insurance 
trust fund, which is used to 
pay unemployment insurance 
benefits for jobless workers. 
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1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

Series1 $16,400 $16,800 $17,000 $17,600 $18,200 $14,000 $12,000 $12,000 $12,000 $12,000 $14,000 $16,000 $16,000 $14,000 $14,000 $18,000 $19,000 $19,000 $19,600 $20,200 $20,600 $21,200 $22,000 $22,400 $23,000 $23,600 $24,000
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Rhode Island unemployment insurance - taxable wage base

 

Rhode Island unemployment insurance (UI) tax at a glance 

  
2019 2020 

Taxable wage base 
$23,600 $24,000 

Tax rate schedule 
G F 

Tax rate range 
1.1% to 9.7% 0.9% to 9.4% 

Tax rate ranges include the 0.21% assessment for Job Development Fund. The 0.08% Job Development 

Adjustment was in effect for 2019 but not for 2020. 

  

MORE INFORMATION 

 

For more about the Rhode 

Island unemployment in-

surance tax, the job devel-

opment assessment, and 

the temporary disability 

insurance (TDI) tax, click 

here. 

For more information 

about Rhode Island unem-

ployment benefits, click 

here. 

For more information 

about benefits under the 

Rhode Island TDI and TCI 

programs, click here. 

http://www.uitax.ri.gov/
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
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TAX YEAR 2020: ESTATE TAX THRESHOLD INCREASES  

  Because of an inflation ad-
justment prescribed by stat-
ute, the Rhode Island estate 
tax credit amount is now 
$69,515 for decedents dying 
on or after January 1, 2020, 
up from the credit amount of 
$68,350 that applied for 
2019. 

  As a result, the Rhode Island 
estate tax threshold is now 
$1,579,922 for decedents 
dying on or after January 1, 
2020, up from the threshold 
of $1,561,719 that applied for 
2019.  

  Thus, in general, for a dece-
dent dying in 2020, a net tax-
able estate valued at 
$1,579,922 or less will not be 
subject to Rhode Island’s es-
tate tax. Due to the inflation 
adjustment, fewer estates will 
be subject to Rhode Island’s 
estate tax in 2020.  

  (In certain circumstances, 
the Rhode Island estate tax 
will not apply regardless of 
the estate’s size: Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-22 
provides full details on the 
computation of the tax, in-
cluding such factors as the 
marital and charitable deduc-
tions.) 
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Forum: Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena Savage (right) took part in the New England State and Local 
Tax Forum, a conference in November 2019 in Newton, Mass., involving significant state and local tax develop-
ments. She was on a panel of representatives from each of the six New England state tax agencies, including John 
Biello (left), who is tax division chief, Audit and Compliance Bureau, at the Connecticut Department of Revenue 

Services, and Craig Bolio (center), commissioner at the Vermont Department of Taxes. 

Rhode Island estate tax threshold amount 

For decedent whose death occurs in: Estate tax threshold amount is: 

2020                 $ 1,579,922  

2019  1,561,719 

2018 1,537,656 

2017 1,515,156 

2016 1,500,000 

2015 1,500,000 

2014 921,655 

2013 910,725 

2012 892,865 

2011 859,350 

2010 850,000 

2009 675,000 

Rhode Island estate tax credit 

For decedent 

whose death 

occurs in: 

Estate tax credit 

amount is: 

2020 $ 69,515  

2019   68,350 

2018   66,810 
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TAX YEAR 2020 :  INTEREST RATES SET FOR THE YEAR 

Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Assessments 

From To Rate 

10/01/06 Present 18.00% 

01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 

01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 

01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 

01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 

01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 

01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 

01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 

01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 

01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 

01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 

03/16/82 12/31/84 20.00% 

06/01/81 03/15/82 12.00% 

05/16/74 05/31/81 8.00% 

01/01/71 05/15/74 6.00% 

  The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has post-
ed the interest rates that will apply in 2020 to 
overpayments and delinquencies. 

  Interest on underpayments 

  The interest rate on delinquent tax payments 
has been set at 18 percent per annum for calen-
dar year 2020, the same as it was for 2019. The 
rate per annum is set by statute, under Rhode 
Island General Laws §  44-1-7. 

Interest on overpayments 

  Interest on overpayments (refunds) for calendar 
year 2019 has been set at 5.00%, down from 
5.25% for 2019. The rate per annum is set by 
statute, under Rhode Island General Laws §  44-
1-7.1. 

Prior years 

  Taxpayers and tax professionals sometimes need to 
compute interest on underpayments or overpayments for 
prior years. The table at right shows interest paid on 
overpayments since 1971, when the personal income 
tax was enacted. The table at left shows interest rates 

charged on underpayments since 1971. 

Rhode Island tax news in brief 

Inflation adjustments 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation has posted infla-
tion-adjusted numbers for the 
personal income tax for tax 
years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020. 

  Included are the adjusted 
amounts for the standard de-
duction, personal exemption, 
and other areas. To learn 
more, click here. 

Withholding 

  The Division of Taxation has 
posted the new booklet of 

income tax withholding tables 
(used by employers and others 
to calculate how much to 
withhold from an employee’s 
pay in 2020 for Rhode Island 
personal income tax purpos-
es). Click here to view. 
 
  The Division has also posted 
the new version of Form RI 
W-4, “Employee’s Withhold-
ing Allowance Certifi-
cate” (which an employee may 
use to adjust the amount of 
Rhode Island personal income 
tax withheld from the em-
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Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Refunds 

From To Rate 

01/01/20 12/31/20 5.00% 

01/01/19 12/31/19 5.25% 

01/01/18 12/31/18 4.25% 

01/01/17 12/31/17 3.50% 

01/01/10 12/31/16 3.25% 

01/01/09 12/31/09 5.00% 

01/01/08 12/31/08 7.75% 

01/01/07 12/31/07 8.25% 

10/01/06 12/31/06 6.75% 

01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 

01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 

01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 

01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 

01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 

01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 

01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 

01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 

01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 

01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 

05/16/82 12/31/84 14.00% 

01/01/71 05/12/82 6.00% 

ployee’s paycheck). 
Click here to view. 
 
  In addition, the Division 
has posted the 2020 with-
holding tax payment calen-
dar (which shows payment 
deadlines for various pay-
ment frequencies). 
Click here to view.  

 

 

Social media 

 

Don’t forget to follow the 

Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation on social media. 

To see what the Division 

has been posting on Twit-

ter, click here. For the 

Division’s blog, click here. 

 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2019_30.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/2020%20Withhholding%20Tax%20Booklet.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/RI%20W-4%202020.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/Payment%20Calendar%202020%20v4.pdf
https://twitter.com/rhodeislandtax?lang=en
http://rhodeislandtax.blogspot.com/
http://rhodeislandtax.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/rhodeislandtax?lang=en


Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed.  

 

Sales and use tax 

At issue is whether the tax-
payer owes the Rhode Island 
sales and use tax assessed on 
the tangible personal property 
that the taxpayer invoiced to a 
company. 

The taxpayer operates as a 
subchapter S corporation for 
tax purposes. It repairs, leas-
es, and sells large construc-
tion equipment and accesso-
ries -- mainly for drilling, pile 
driving, and ground improve-
ment.  

The company, meanwhile, is 
a Rhode Island limited liabil-
ity company (LLC) treated as 
a partnership for tax purpos-
es. 

In June 2015, the Division 
began a sales and use tax re-
audit of the taxpayer. The 
auditor found sales invoices 
for tangible property from the 
taxpayer to the company: 

⬧The taxpayer did not charge 
sales or use tax to the compa-
ny for the equipment. 

⬧The taxpayer counted the 
sales as part of its gross re-
ceipts on its 2014 federal and 
Rhode Island corporate in-
come tax returns. 

⬧The taxpayer did not declare 

the equipment for purposes of 
municipal tax. 

⬧The company depreciated 
the equipment on its 2014 
and 2015 federal corporate 
returns. 

⬧The company was assessed 
for municipal taxes on the 
equipment. 

⬧The company did not issue a 
resale certificate to the tax-
payer for the equipment. (By 
law, there is a presumption 
that all gross receipts are sub-
ject to sales tax. A seller may 
overcome that presumption if 
the seller obtains from the 
buyer a resale certificate 
showing that the purchase is 

exempt from sales tax.) 

A hearing was held and the 
parties were represented by 
counsel. 

The taxpayer argued that 
there was no sale because, 
among other things, there 
was no transfer of title, and 
no transfer of possession, no 
rental or lease of the equip-
ment.  

The taxpayer also asserted 
that in other jurisdictions, 
transactions between related 
parties are exempt from tax. 

The Division argued that, 
among other things, there 
was a transfer of title from 
the taxpayer to the company, 
as evidenced by invoices, de-
preciation, gross-receipts 
treatment, lack of a resale 
certificate, the municipal tax 
treatment, and other factors.  

The taxpayer asserted that 
invoices were not evidence of 
sale. Rather, the invoices 
were created for asset protec-
tion and that the original in-
tent was for protection in 
case of a lawsuit.  

Hearing Officer Catherine R. 
Warren determined that the 
transactions fell under the 
statutory definition of a sale. 
The taxpayer recorded -- as 
part of its gross receipts -- the 
amount charged the company 
on its invoices; the company 
depreciated the assets.  

(Please turn to next page) 
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Tax hearings 

 

Any taxpayer aggrieved by 

the action of the Tax Divi-

sion in determining the 

amount of tax, surcharge, 

or penalty, may make writ-

ten request for a formal 

hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afford-

ed an opportunity to have a 

preliminary review. Should 

the matter not be resolved, 

it may then proceed to 

formal hearing under the 

terms of the state Adminis-

trative Procedures Act 

(RIGL § 42-35-1 et seq) and 

Tax Division regulation   

280-RICR-20-00-2. 

If not satisfied with the 

outcome, the taxpayer may 

appeal to Sixth Division 

District Court (RIGL § 8-8-

24 et seq). 

Rhode Island Tax News pro-

vides only summaries of 

some recent tax-case deci-

sions, which are based on 

specific facts and circum-

stances. 

The summaries are merely 

informative and provide 

general information. To 

determine how state tax 

laws and regulations apply 
to your particular circum-

stances, please consult your 

tax professional. 
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The hearing officer also deter-
mined that the company paid 
municipal taxes on 
the equipment.  

“If one entity rec-
ords as part of its 
gross receipts the 
amount of money 
that another entity 
was invoiced and 

JANUARY/FEBRUARY/MARCH 2020 

 

Decisions online 

The Division of Taxation’s website 
shows all Administrative Decisions 

since early 2011. To view, click 

here. 

that other entity then de-
preciates those items on its 

tax returns and 
declares them for 
municipal tax 
purposes, it fol-
lows that the 
items were sold,” 
the hearing officer 
wrote. 

On September 19, 2019, the 
hearing officer recommended 
a finding that the transactions 
represented a sale under the 
statute and that the taxpayer 
owes the sales tax on the sale 
of the equipment as well as 
the assessed interest. She also 
recommended a finding that a 
10% penalty be added to the 
tax owed, as provided under 

Rhode Island General Laws 
§ 44-19-12. 

On September 24, 2019, 
Tax Administrator Neena S. 
Savage adopted the hearing 
officer’s decision and rec-
ommendation. 

- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2019-06 

JUDGE RULES IN FAVOR OF D IVISION IN OTP CASE 

  The District Court in Provi-
dence recently ruled in favor 
of the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation in a case involving 
tobacco tax. 

  The case has its roots in an 
inspection of a smoking bar in 
Providence by the Division of 
Taxation in December 2016.  

  The inspection involved 
“other tobacco products” tax. 
(“Other tobacco products,” 
also known as OTP, generally 
refers to the tax on tobacco 
products other than ciga-
rettes. The term generally 
refers to cigars, cheroots, 
stogies, pipe tobacco, chew-
ing tobacco, hookah and shi-
sha tobacco, snuff, and certain 
other items.) 

  After the inspection, the 
Division issued a Notice of 
Deficiency in the amount of 
approximately $22,902, as 
well as a notice of a 30-day 
license suspension. 

  The Division received copies 
of the invoices for the taxpay-
er’s purchase of OTP from an 
out-of-state distributor which 

was not licensed as a tobac-
co distributor in Rhode 
Island. The taxpayer had 
not remitted any tax for its 
OTP purchases prior to the 
inspection.  

  After the inspection, the 
taxpayer filed three remit-
tances; the Division as-
sessed the taxpayer the 
difference between the 
amount of tax owed based 
on the purchase invoices, 
and the amount of tax actu-
ally remitted. 

  The Division’s assess-
ments covered 2012 
through 2016. The taxpay-
er agreed that it owed tax 
for 2015 and 2016.  

  The taxpayer requested a 
hearing, asserting that the 
Division can go back only 
24 months prior to inspec-
tion.  

  However, according to 
the District Court, Hearing 
Officer Catherine R. War-
ren determined in a deci-
sion issued in October 
2017 that the Division 

could go back six years when 
assessing the taxpayer because 
the taxpayer had failed to file 
records; penalties were ap-
propriate; and the Division 
was legally required to assess 
additional penalties. The 
hearing officer also suspended 
the taxpayer’s license for 30 
days in late 2017. 

  Tax Administrator Neena 
Savage adopted the hearing 
officer’s decision and recom-
mendation (see Final Decision 
and Order No. 2017-13). 

  As a result of the decision, 
the Division increased the 
$22,902 assessment to 
$66,293.  

  The taxpayer appealed the 
decision to the Sixth Division 
District Court in Providence. 
The taxpayer asserted, among 
other things, that the Divi-
sion’s assessment of fines and 
penalties was not appropriate 
and that the statutory provi-
sions that the Division relied 
on were not applicable.  

  In her decision in the case, 
dated December 9, 2019, 

District Court Associate 
Judge Christine S. Jabour 
determined that, among 
other things, the Division 
appropriately assessed fines 
and penalties against the 
taxpayer based on the law in 
effect at the time.  

  Jabour also agreed with the 
Division that the taxpayer’s 
failure to file certain forms 
with the Division was an 
aggravating factor in the 
case. 

  “Accordingly, the Division 
imposed the appropriate 
sanctions based on the tax-
payer’s history and nonpay-
ment of taxes, and failure to 
comply with its regulatory 
requirement,” Jabour wrote 
in her decision, which af-
firmed the tax administra-
tor’s decision. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2019/2019_06.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2019/2019_06.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2017/2017-13.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2017/2017-13.pdf
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Editor’s Note: The questions 

below all have to do with Rhode 

Island’s new entity-level tax that 

a pass-through entity may elect to 

pay. 

Q: If my pass-through 

entity elects to pay 

Rhode Island’s new enti-

ty-level tax, where on the 

Form RI-1040 would I, as 

one of the partners in the 

entity, report my pro rata 

share of the entity-level? 

You will report your pro rata 

share of the entity-level tax 

by using 

Schedule 

W of the 

Form RI-

1040 or 

Form RI-

1040NR. 

That’s the 

same sched-

ule on 

which you 

would nor-

mally report the amount of 

Rhode Island personal income 

tax withheld from a paycheck 

or the like.  

(Please note, however, that 

when you report on Schedule 

W your pro rata share of the 

entity-level tax, use the cor-

rect code -- enter letter code 

E in column B. Please see 

Schedule W and instructions 

for more information.) 

You will also report your pro 

rata share of the entity-level 

tax on line 2h of Schedule M 

of the Form RI-1040 or 

Form RI-1040NR. Please 

see Schedule M and instruc-

tions. 

Q: Will any unused enti-

ty-level tax credit be 

refundable?  

It is refundable. 

Q: If my pass-through 

entity elected to pay 

Rhode Island’s new en-

tity-level tax, and a re-

fund results, and the 

resulting refund in-

cludes 

some or 

all of the 

entity-

level tax 

credit, 

can I ap-

ply all of 

the re-

fund for-

ward to 

the next 

year to 

fulfill my individual es-

timated tax payment 

requirements? 

Assuming that you have a 

Rhode Island personal in-

come tax overpayment, you 

may receive it in the form of 

a refund, or apply it to next 

year’s tax, or split it (with 

some of it as a refund and 

the remainder of it applied 

to next year’s tax).  

Q: Can a sole proprietor, 

filing on Schedule C or 

Schedule E of his or her 

U.S. Form 1040, take ad-

vantage of Rhode Island’s 

new entity-level tax on 

pass-through entities? 

Rhode Island’s new law al-

lows sole proprietors, filing 

on federal Schedule C or 

Schedule E, to elect to pay 

Rhode Island’s new entity-

level tax on pass-through enti-

ties.  

However, we recommend 

that such sole proprietors (and 

their tax advisors) make their 

own determination as to 

whether and how Rhode Is-

land’s new entity-level tax 

will be deductible for them at 

the federal level; that’s some-

thing to do with the U.S. 

Treasury/IRS, not with the 

Rhode Island Division of Tax-

ation. 

Q: If a partner in a part-

nership receives a guar-

anteed payment, does 

that guaranteed payment 

count for purposes of 

Rhode Island’s entity-

level tax on pass-through 

entities? 

A: Yes. 

In 2019, the Rhode Island 

General Assembly passed leg-

islation that has since been 

codified at Rhode Island Gen-

eral Laws § 44-11-2.3 (“Pass-

through entities -- Election to 

pay state income tax at the 

entity level”).  

(Please turn to next page) 

  

  

About     

‘Practitioners’ Corner’ 
 

The “Practitioners’ Cor-

ner” feature provides gen-

eral answers to some of 

the questions that the Tax 

Division encounters 

through the normal course 

of business. 

The answers are intended 

solely to provide general 

information. They do not 

represent formal guidance, 

and are not substitutes for 

Rhode Island General Laws, 

Tax Division regulations, or 

Tax Division rulings. 
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Newsletter for      

tax-filing season 
 

The Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation recently posted a 

separate newsletter which 

focuses entirely on this tax-

filing season (involving re-

turns for the 2019 tax year).  

To view the filing-season 

newsletter, click here. 
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That law authorizes pass-

through entities to pay an 

entity-level tax if they so 

choose. 

If the entity elects to pay the 

tax, it pays at a rate of 

5.99% of its net income.  

The new law specifically 

notes that the term “net 

income” includes guaranteed 

payments.  

 So, when it 

comes to Rhode 

Island’s new enti-

ty-level tax on 

pass-through enti-

ties,  guaranteed 

payments count as income 

for purposes of your compu-

tation. 

Q: If a subchapter S cor-

poration sells a building 

at a capital gain, does 

the capital gain consti-

tute “other business in-

come” for purposes of 

Rhode Island’s entity-

level tax on pass-

through entities? 

A: When it comes to the 

computation of Rhode Is-

land’s new entity-level tax 

on pass-through entities, 

include capital gains as in-

come for purposes of your 

computation. 

For example, if the S corpo-

ration has $100,000 in in-

come from its day-to-day 

operations, let’s 

say, but it also has 

a $25,000 capital 

gain from the sale 

of a building, its 

overall income 

for the purposes 

of the pass-

through entity tax 

is $125,000. 

If you are wondering what to 

include and what not to in-

clude as income for purposes 

of the computation, please 

see the instructions to the 

Division’s Form RI-PTE 

(“Pass-Through Entity Elec-

tion Tax Return”). A handy 

table in the instructions pro-

vides some helpful guidance. 

(See screenshot below.) 

Q: On the individual’s 

Form RI-1040, will the 

Rhode Island credit that 

the individual is claim-

ing for having paid his 

or her share of the entity

-level tax be utilized af-

ter other available cred-

its, such as taxes paid to 

other states and the film 

tax credit? 

Yes. On Schedule W of your 

Rhode Island personal in-

come tax return, include 

your share of the entity-level 

tax paid.  

Carry over that sum (along 

with the rest of your Sched-

ule W sums) to line 14a of 

your Form RI-1040 or line 

17a of your Form RI-

1040NR. 

Thus, on the main part of 

your return, the credit for 

your portion of entity-level 

tax will appear near the top 

of page 2. The film tax credit 

(also known as the motion 

picture production tax cred-

it) appears on page 1, along 

with some other credits. But 

you probably aren’t much 

interested in the design of the 

return. Rather, you probably 

want to know what’s limited 

and what isn’t. The film tax 

credit, and others like it, are 

limited — in other words, 

they are not refundable. The 

credit for the entity-level tax 

is refundable. 

       Image of clock on this page is used under Creative Commons license. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/newsletter/Rhode_Island_Division_of_Taxation_Newsletter_Filing_Season_2020.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2019/Corporate/2019%20RI-PTE_v8_m.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2019/Corporate/2019%20RI-PTE_v8_m.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2019/Corporate/2019%20RI-PTE_v8_m.pdf
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REMINDERS FOR LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES (LLCS) 

L imited liability compa-
nies (LLCs) are required 

under Rhode Island law to file 
an annual return with the 
Rhode Island Division of Tax-
ation and pay an annual tax or 
fee.  

  Which form to file and 
which tax/fee to pay depends 
on the LLC. 

  If the LLC is treated as a pass
-through entity and not as a 
corporation for federal tax 
purposes, it must file Form RI
-1065 and pay an annual 
charge. 

  If the LLC is treated as a 
corporation for federal tax 
purposes, it must file Form RI
-1120C each year and pay the 
Rhode Island corporate in-
come tax. 

Filing deadlines 

  In general, the annual tax 
filing deadline is March 15 for 
an LLC treated as a pass-
through entity, while the 
deadline is April 15 for an 
LLC treated as a corporation 
for federal tax purposes.  

  A single-member LLC (also 
known as a SMLLC) uses the 
same filing deadline as its 
owner. For example, if the 
owner is an individual, the 
SMLLC return and payment 
are due April 15. 

  The Rhode Island filing and 
payment requirements sum-
marized here also apply for 
any full or partial year in 
which the business is in exist-
ence, including the year in 
which the business is formed 

and the year in which the 
business dissolves.  

  For more information, see 
the applicable form and re-
lated instructions by clicking 
here. 

  An LLC whose members 
include one or more nonres-
idents generally must with-
hold and remit Rhode Island 
tax and file RI-1096PT each 
year reporting the income 
flowing through and the 
amount of nonresident 
Rhode Island tax withheld. 
(If the entity elects to pay 
Rhode Island’s new entity-
level tax, the entity is not 
required to comply with the 
provisions of Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-11-2.2 
regarding withholding on 
nonresident owners.) 

  Nonresident individuals 
and entities are required to 
file the appropriate Rhode 
Island tax returns reporting 
the pass-through income and 
any pass-through withheld 
tax. In some instances, Form 
RI-1040C may be filed. 

  For forms and information 
related to pass-through in-
come and pass-through with-
held tax, click here and 
here. For employer tax in-
formation (in case the LLC 
has employees and has em-
ployer tax obligations), click 
here. 

  In general, for an LLC 
treated as a corporation for 
federal tax purposes, for tax 
years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2015, the tax is 7 

percent of net income, or 
the minimum tax, whichever 
amount is greater. For prior 
years, corporations paid the 
Rhode Island corporate in-
come tax or the franchise 
tax, whichever amount was 
greater. (For rates and other 
information, please see the 
applicable tax form.)  

Sale or transfer   

  Keep in mind that an LLC 
must notify the Division at 
least five business days be-
fore the sale or transfer of a 
major part in value of the 
LLC’s assets.  

  The notification must be 
made by requesting a letter 
of good standing from the 
Division.  

  All required tax returns 
must be filed and all Rhode 
Island state taxes paid when 
the Tax Administrator is 

notified of the sale or trans-
fer. 

Annual charge 

  The annual charge – some-
times called the annual fee, 
filing fee, or filing charge – is 
as follows: 

⬧$400 for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2017; 

⬧$450 for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2016, but before January 1, 
2017; 

⬧$500 for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2004, but before January 1, 
2016; and 

⬧$250 for 2003 and earlier. 

JANUARY/FEBRUARY/MARCH 2020 

Excise & Estate: Theriza Iafrate (right), chief of the Division of 
Taxation’s Excise & Estate Tax unit, fielded questions from tax 

preparers after the Division’s “Seminar for Tax Preparers” held at 
the Community College of Rhode Island’s Knight campus in War-

wick in December. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/passthrough_entities.php
http://www.uitax.ri.gov/


PAGE 15 A NEWSLETTER FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS JANUARY/FEBRUARY/MARCH 2020 

  A MESSAGE FOR TAXPAYERS   

HEALTH INSURANCE 

MANDATE 
A message for taxpayers from the 

 

 

A s of January 1, 2020, Rhode Island requires its residents to maintain health-
care coverage. 

The new Rhode Island law requires you and your family to have minimum essen-
tial health-care coverage throughout 2020 and beyond, unless you qualify for an 
exemption. 

Failure to have health coverage or qualify for an exemption will result in a “shared 
responsibility payment” (in other words, a penalty) when you file your 2020 
Rhode Island personal income tax return in early 2021. 

⬧ Need Health Coverage? If you just learned about Rhode Island’s mandate dur-
ing the tax season in 2020, you may be eligible to sign up via a special enrollment 
period (SEP). Go to  www.healthsourceri.com/mandate for more information or 
call 1-855-840-HSRI. Eligible low-income families can enroll in Medicaid at any 
time. 

⬧ Note: If you are not required to file a 2020 Rhode Island personal income tax 
return, you will be exempt from the mandate for that year. The new Rhode Island 
law is similar to the federal health insurance mandate in effect on December 15, 
2017, prior to enactment of the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. 

Special 
Notice 

R hode Island’s new mandate 
involving health-care cov-

erage was part of the fiscal year 
2020 budget bill proposed by 
Rhode Island Governor Gina M. 
Raimondo, approved by the 
Rhode Island General Assembly, 
and enacted on July 5, 2019.  

 The mandate to have suffi-
cient health-care coverage 
(also known as “minimum 
essential coverage”) took 
effect January 1, 2020. 

 If you fail to have sufficient 
health-care coverage or 
qualify for an exemption, 
you will have to pay a pen-
alty on your Rhode Island 
personal income tax return, 
starting in early 2021 (for 
the 2020 tax year). 

 Most people have minimum 
essential coverage (through 
employer-sponsored health 
insurance, Medicaid, Medi-
care, TRICARE, or some 
other means) and will not 
have to pay the penalty. 

 
 

Rhode Island Division of Taxation 

       Image of blackboard on this page is used under Creative Commons license. 

http://www.healthsourceri.com/mandate
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5151Aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5151Aaa.pdf
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One Capitol Hill 

Providence, R.I. 02908 
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Newsletter Contributors 

The following Division of Taxation personnel provided information 
or other assistance for this edition of Rhode Island Tax News: 

 

Carlita Annicelli  
Michael Canole 
Philip D’Ambra 

Donna Dube 

 

Leo Lebeuf 
Bernard Lemos 
Neena Savage 

Bethany Whitmarsh 
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The Division also thanks Hearing Officer Catherine Warren 
for her assistance, and the staff at HealthSource RI for their 
assistance. Note: The image of a clock and the image of a 
chalkboard in this newsletter are used under Creative Com-

mons license. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov

