
them, but some were not. 
We want to remind all cor-
porations and their prepar-
ers to be aware of the new 
regime when it comes to 
estimated payments,” she 
said. 
  Under former law, a cor-
poration was required to 
make two Rhode Island 
payments of estimated tax. 
 

(Please turn to page 2) 

T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation re-

minds corporations and 
their tax advisors about 
estimated payments of tax 
during 2019. 
  During 2018, new due 
dates and a new formula 
applied. 
  Those new due dates and 
the new formula will also 
apply for the 2019 tax year, 

said Rhode Island Tax Ad-
ministrator Neena Savage.  
  “The changes that took 
effect in 2018 brought relief 
to a number of corpora-
tions, whose estimated tax 
liability is now spread out 
evenly throughout the 
year,” she said. 
  “Most businesses and pre-
parers were fully aware of 
the changes and embraced 

WHAT ’S NEW FOR TAX YEAR 2019 

CORPORATE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS :  2019 

E mployers will once 
again use a new, lower 

rate schedule to determine 
the amount of Rhode Island 

unemployment insurance 
tax they owe. 

  Meanwhile, the Rhode 

Island estate tax threshold 
has increased for 2019. As a 
consequence, fewer estates 
will wind up subject to the 
tax. 

  And the maximum amount 
of wages to which Rhode 
Island’s temporary disability 
insurance (TDI) tax applies 
is up for 2019, but the tax 
rate remains the same as in 
2018. Therefore, the in-
crease in the maximum TDI 
tax will be limited. 

  These are among the 
changes, updates, and re-
minders included in this 
issue of Rhode Island Tax 
News, focusing mainly on  
the 2019 tax year . Cover-
age begins below. 
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This issue of Rhode Island Tax 

News focuses on what’s new 

for the 2019 tax year, and 

also includes regular fea-

tures, such as “Practitioners’ 

Corner”. 

(The Division recently post-

ed a special edition of its 

newsletter to provide infor-

mation about the current 

filing season, covering the 

2018 tax year.) 
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Business: Marlen Bautista, chief of the Tax Assessment & Review section at the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation, talked about what’s new for 2019 during a 

presentation to tax preparers in December, held at the Community College of 
Rhode Island’s Knight Campus in Warwick. 
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TAX YEAR 2019 :  ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS  (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1) 

  The first such payment, for 
40 percent of the total, was 
due on the 15th day of the 
third month of the tax year. 

  The second such payment, 
for 60 percent of the total, 
was due on the 15th day of 
the sixth month of the tax 
year. 

  Thus, for a calendar-year C 
corporation, the first pay-
ment, of 40 percent, was due 
March 15.  The second pay-
ment, of 60 percent, was due 
June 15. 

  Thus, under the old law, 
payments were front-loaded: 
They had to be made within 
the first six months of the 
year. Also, under the old law, 
the payments were uneven: a 
smaller amount early in the 
year, and a larger amount mid
-year. 

 Under the new law, which 
applies for tax years beginning 
after December 31, 2017, a 
corporation now makes four 
payments of Rhode Island 
estimated tax, not two. 

  Also, the payments under 
the new law are made in 
equal installments of 25 per-
cent apiece, spread out over 
the year. 

⧫ The first payment is due on 
the 15th day of the fourth 
month of the tax year. 

⧫ The second payment is due 
on the 15th day of the sixth 
month of the tax year. 

 

⧫ The third payment is due 
on the 15th day of the ninth 
month of the tax year. 

⧫ The fourth payment is due 
on the 15th day of the 
twelfth month of the tax 
year. 

 Thus, for a calendar-year C 
corporation in 2019, the 
first payment will be due on 
April 15, the second on June 
17, the third on September 
16, and the fourth on De-

cember 16. (The 15th of the 
month for the last three pay-
ments in calendar year 2019 
falls on a weekend, so the 
due date moves to the next 
business day.) 

⧫ The new law specifically 
notes that if a due date falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, or 
Rhode Island legal holiday, 
the installment will be due 
on the next regular business 
day. 
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Reminder on corporate estimated tax – due dates and amounts 

 OLD SYSTEM:                                       

(Two installments, front-loaded) 

 NEW SYSTEM:                                         

(Four equal installments, spread out) 

  DUE DATE AMOUNT   DUE DATE AMOUNT 

1st payment March 15 40% 1st payment April 15 25% 

2nd payment June 15 60% 2nd payment June 15 25% 

      3rd payment Sept. 15 25% 

      4th payment Dec. 15 25% 

For illustration purposes, table assumes filer is calendar-year C corporation. New system applies for tax years 

beginning after December 31, 2017. Dates in table do not take into account weekends, holidays.  

⧫ For estimated tax purpos-
es, surplus lines filers will 
follow the same schedule 
shown above: payments in 
mid-April, mid-June, mid-
September, and mid-
December. 

A table on this page offers an 
at-a-glance look at the due 
dates and formula for corpo-
rate estimated payments. 

Sunset date extended for some tax credits 

  Several Rhode Island tax 
credit, incentive, and related 
programs were scheduled to 
sunset on December 31, 
2018.  

  However, as a result of 
legislation approved by the 
Rhode Island General As-
sembly and signed into law 
by Rhode Island Governor 

Gina M. Raimondo, the sun-
set for each of the following 
has been extended to June 
30, 2020. 

⧫ The “Rebuild Rhode Island 
Tax Credit” program. 

⧫ The “Rhode Island Tax 
Increment Financing” pro-
gram. 

⧫ The “Stay Invested in RI 
Wavemaker Fellowship” 
program. 

⧫ The “Rhode Island New 
Qualified Jobs Incentive Act 
2015” program. 

The programs were extend-
ed by legislation enacted last 
year. 



   

 

 

Tax tip line 

 
If you have information 

about wrongdoing involving 

state taxes, call the tax 
fraud tip line at (401) 574-
TIPS or (401) 574- 8477 

and leave a message. The 
line is staffed by the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation’s 

Special Investigation Unit, 
which follows up on all tips. 

Callers can leave their 

names and contact infor-
mation or remain anony-
mous. To use the online 

fraud-reporting form, click 

here. 
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TAX YEAR 2019 :  TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE (TDI) 

  The maximum tax under 
Rhode Island’s temporary 
disability insurance (TDI) 
program will be $781.00 for 
calendar year 2019, up from 
$762.30 for calendar year 
2018, an increase or $18.70. 

  The TDI tax has two main 
components: one is the tax 
rate itself, the other is the 
amount of your wages to 
which that tax rate applies. 

  The maximum amount of 
wages to which the TDI tax 
rate applies will be $71,000 
for 2019, compared with 
$69,300 for 2018, an increase 
of 2.45 percent, or $1,700. 

  However, the TDI tax rate 
will be 1.1 percent for 2019, 
the same as it was for 2018. 
As a result of the unchanged 
tax rate, the maximum TDI 
tax for 2019 will be $781.00 
(the tax rate of 1.1 percent 
applied to the first $71,000 of 

one’s wages). 

  The maximum TDI tax for 
2018 was $762.30 (the tax 
rate of 1.1 percent applied 
to the first $69,300 of one’s 
wages). 

  Whether the amount of 
your TDI tax goes up or 
down will generally depend 
on how much you earn. 

  The TDI program is admin-
istered by the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and 

Temporary caregiver insurance (tci)  

  Rhode Island’s temporary 
caregiver insurance (TCI) 
program can provide eligible 
claimants with up to four 
weeks of caregiver benefits to 
care for a seriously ill child, 
spouse, domestic partner, 
parent, parent-in-law, or 
grandparent, or to bond with 
a newborn child, newly 
adopted child, or new foster-
care child. 

  TCI is part of the TDI pro-
gram; it is paid for through 

TDI taxes.  

  TCI benefits are subject to 
federal and Rhode Island 
income taxes, according to 
the Rhode Island Depart-
ment of Labor and Training; 
beneficiaries are issued a 
Form 1099 each year for tax 
purposes, showing the 
amount of benefits received 
in the prior year.  

  Through October 2018, 
the DLT said it processed 
38,904 TDI applications, of 

Year Tax rate Wage base Max. tax 

2019 1.1% $71,000 $781.00 

2018 1.1% $69,300 $762.30 

2017 1.2% $68,100  $817.20 

2016 1.2% $66,300 $795.60 

2015 1.2% $64,200 $770.40 

2014 1.2% $62,700 $752.40 

2013 1.2% $61,400 $736.80 

2012 1.2% $60,000 $720.00 

2011 1.3% $58,400 $759.20 

2010 1.2% $57,900 $694.80 

2009 1.5% $56,000 $840.00 

2008 1.3% $54,400 $707.20 
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Training; the tax is collected 
by the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation. The TDI pro-
gram generally pays benefits 
for unemployment caused by 
injury or illness unrelated to 
work. A related program, 
funded through TDI, is tem-
porary caregivers insurance, 
also known as TCI. (see be-
low). TCI is not a separate 
state program; TCI is part of 
the TDI program. Most pri-
vate-sector workers pay for 
TDI as a tax, through payroll 
withholding.  

 

which 10,457 were initial 
claims for TCI. 

   Through late 2018, pay-
ments of TDI benefits aver-
aged $497 a week, while pay-
ments of TCI benefits aver-
aged $522 a week. 

  To learn more about TCI or 
TDI, click here. 

    For information on UI, 
click here. 

https://rigov.wufoo.com/forms/report-rhode-island-tax-fraud/
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/
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TAX YEAR 2019: UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX  

  For most Rhode Island em-
ployers, the taxable wage base 
for calculating the Rhode Is-
land unemployment insurance 
(UI) tax is $23,600 for 2019, 
compared with $23,000 for 
2018, an increase of $600, or 
2.61 percent. 

  The State of Rhode Island 
will continue to use the same 
tax rate schedule as last year -
- Schedule G. Therefore, the 
tax rate range will stay the 
same for 2019, at 1.1 percent 
to 9.7 percent (including the 
assessment and adjustment for 
the Job Development Fund).  

  Thus, many employers will 
see only a modest increase in 
Rhode Island unemployment 
insurance tax in 2019. 

  Which rate in that range will 
apply to a specific employer 
depends on the employer’s 
experience with the UI sys-
tem. The lower an employ-
er’s “experience rate,” the 
less tax the employer pays. 
Notices of individual tax rates 

were mailed to employers 
starting in early January.  

Revisions 

  In June 2016, the Rhode 
Island General Assembly 
approved legislation which 
included a proposal by 
Rhode Island Governor Gina 
M. Raimondo to revise 
downward the unemploy-
ment insurance trust fund’s 
reserve ratio. 

  That change saved Rhode 
Island employers about $30 
million a year in the aggre-
gate for 2017 and later 
years. The policy change 
also made the overall UI tax 
structure fairer by ensuring 
that companies with the 
lowest experience ratings 
pay the lowest tax. 

  The state unemployment 
insurance system’s taxable 
wage base represents the 
maximum amount of an 
employee’s wages that are 
subject to the state UI tax. 
The taxable wage base is set 

by law at 46.5 percent of the 
average annual wage in 
Rhode Island. 

  A separate, higher taxable 
wage base applies for em-
ployers who have experi-
enced considerable unem-
ployment – and who there-
fore have used the system’s 
resources the most and are 
taxed at the highest state UI 
tax rate. For those employ-
ers, the taxable wage base is 
$25,100 for 2019, compared 
with $24,500 for 2018. 

  In general, the higher wage 
base is intended to help off-
set the large drain that these 
employers have on the state’s 
unemployment insurance 
trust fund. 

    In general, assessments on  
employers in the state go 
into the state’s unemploy-
ment insurance trust fund, 
which is used to pay unem-
ployment insurance benefits 
for jobless workers. 

                                                        

  The state UI tax rates men-
tioned here include the Job De-
velopment Assessment, which is 
the same for 2019 as it was for 
2018:  0.21 percent of the tax-
able wage base. 

  Proceeds from the assessment go 
to the Job Development Fund 
(JDF), which is administered by 
the Governor’s Workforce Board 
and is focused on improving the 
skills and employability of 
Rhode Island’s workforce. 

  For 2019, a little less of each 
employer’s contribution will go 
to the Rhode Island unemploy-
ment insurance trust fund while 
a little more will go to Rhode 
Island's Job Development Fund. 

  However, employers will be 
held harmless. That’s because, 
under the law, any increase in 
the overall levy that an employer 
pays for the JDF is offset by a 
corresponding reduction in the 
employer’s Rhode Island unem-
ployment insurance tax rate. 

JANUARY/FEBRUARY/MARCH 2019 
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TAX YEAR 2019: ESTATE TAX THRESHOLD INCREASES  

  Because of an inflation ad-
justment prescribed by stat-
ute, the Rhode Island estate 
tax credit amount is now 
$68,350 for decedents dying 
on or after January 1, 2019, 
up from the credit amount of 
$66,810 that applied for 
2018. 

  As a result, the Rhode Island 
estate tax threshold is now 
$1,561,719 for decedents 
dying on or after January 1, 
2019, up from the threshold 
of $1,537,656 that applied for 
2018.  

  Thus, in general, for a dece-
dent dying in 2019, a net tax-
able estate valued at 
$1,561,719 or less will not be 
subject to Rhode Island’s es-
tate tax.  

  Due to the inflation adjust-
ment, fewer estates will be 
subject to Rhode Island’s es-
tate tax in 2019.  

  (In certain circumstances, 
the Rhode Island estate tax 
will not apply regardless of 
the estate’s size: Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-22 
provides full details on the 
computation of the tax, in-
cluding such factors as the 
marital and charitable deduc-
tions.) 
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Protection: The Internal Revenue Service, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, and other partners in the 
Security Summit urged taxpayers in December to protect their tax and financial data from identity thieves. In 

Rhode Island, Tax Administrator Neena Savage (above) and then-Attorney General Peter Kilmartin helped launch 
the start of National Tax Security Awareness Week by taking part in a news conference in Cranston co-hosted by 

the IRS and the Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants. 

Rhode Island estate tax threshold amount 

For decedent whose death occurs in: Estate tax threshold amount is: 

2019 $ 1,561,719 

2018 1,537,656 

2017 1,515,156 

2016 1,500,000 

2015 1,500,000 

2014 921,655 

2013 910,725 

2012 892,865 

2011 859,350 

2010 850,000 

2009 675,000 

Rhode Island estate tax credit 

For decedent 

whose death 

occurs in: 

Estate tax credit 

amount is: 

2019   $ 68,350 

2018 66,810 

2017 65,370 

2016 64,400 

2015 64,400 
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TAX YEAR 2019 :  INTEREST RATES SET FOR THE YEAR 

Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Assessments 

From To Rate 

10/01/06 Present 18.00% 

01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 

01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 

01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 

01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 

01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 

01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 

01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 

01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 

01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 

01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 

03/16/82 12/31/84 20.00% 

06/01/81 03/15/82 12.00% 

05/16/74 05/31/81 8.00% 

01/01/71 05/15/74 6.00% 

  The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has post-
ed the interest rates that will apply in 2019 to 
overpayments and delinquencies. 

  Interest on underpayments 

  The interest rate on delinquent tax payments 
has been set at 18 percent per annum for calen-
dar year 2019, the same as it was for 2018. The 
rate per annum is set by statute, under Rhode 
Island General Laws §  44-1-7. 

Interest on overpayments 

  Interest on overpayments (refunds) for calendar 
year 2019 has been set at 5.25 percent, up from  
4.25 percent for 2018. The rate per annum is set 
by statute, under Rhode Island General Laws §  
44-1-7.1. 

Prior years 

  Tax practitioners sometimes need to compute interest 
on underpayments or overpayments for prior years. The 
table at left shows interest paid on overpayments since 
1971, when the personal income tax was enacted. The 
table at right shows interest rates charged on underpay-

ments since 1971. 

Rhode Island tax news in brief 

Inflation adjustments 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation has posted infla-
tion-adjusted numbers for the 
personal income tax for tax 
years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019. 

  Included are the adjusted 
amounts for the standard de-
duction, personal exemption, 
and other areas. To learn 
more, click here. 
 

Sales tax calendar 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation has posted the 

2019 version of its sales tax 
filing calendar.  

  Geared mainly to businesses, 
the calendar shows due dates 
in 2019 for remitting not just 
sales tax, but also meals and 
beverage tax; hotel tax; tax on 
short-term residential rentals 
(such as beach cottages); tax 
on prepaid wireless; real es-
tate conveyance tax, and oth-
er levies. To view or down-
load, click here. 

 

Withholding  

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation has posted the with-
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Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Refunds 

From To Rate 

01/01/19 12/31/19 5.25% 

01/01/18 12/31/18 4.25% 

01/01/17 12/31/17 3.50% 

01/01/10 12/31/16 3.25% 

01/01/09 12/31/09 5.00% 

01/01/08 12/31/08 7.75% 

01/01/07 12/31/07 8.25% 

10/01/06 12/31/06 6.75% 

01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 

01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 

01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 

01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 

01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 

01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 

01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 

01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 

01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 

01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 

05/16/82 12/31/84 14.00% 

01/01/71 05/12/82 6.00% 

holding tax filing due date 
calendar for 2019. It is for 
employers (or their agents) 
to remit to the Division the 
amount of Rhode Island 
personal income tax with-
held from employees. To 
view or download, click 
here. 

  The new booklet of Rhode 
Island income tax withhold-
ing tables is now available. 
It is used by employers and 
others to calculate how 
much to withhold from an 
employee’s pay for Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
purposes. Click here. 

  The new version of Form 
RI W-4, “Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance 
Certificate”, is now availa-
ble. An employee may use 
it to adjust the amount of 
Rhode Island personal in-
come tax withheld from the 
employee’s paycheck. Click 
here. 

Gas tax 

  The Division has adjusted 
the motor fuel tax (“gas 
tax”) for inflation. The tax 
as adjusted will take effect 
on July 1, 2019. Click here 
to learn more. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_45.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/documents/information/2019/2019%20TXCLDR%20SALES.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/documents/information/2019/2019%20TXCLDR%20WITHHOLDING.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2019/Withholding/2019%20Withholding%20Booklet.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2019/Withholding/RI%20W-4%202019.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_48.pdf


Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed.  

 

Refund claim 

At issue is whether a married 
couple’s claim for refund for 
two tax years should have 
been denied by the Division. 

The taxpayers filed their 2013 
and 2014 returns on October 
17, 2017. The Division de-
nied the refund claims on 
those returns, saying they 
were not filed on time. The 
taxpayers disagreed, and a 
hearing was held. The Divi-
sion and the taxpayers were 
represented by counsel. 

Under the law, a claim for 
credit or refund of an over-
payment of tax must be filed 
within two years of the time 
the tax was paid, or within 
three years of the time the 
return was filed, whichever of 
the periods expires the later. 

In other words, there's a two-
year rule and a three-year 
rule. (Please see table on next 
page.) 

 

⧫ Tax Year 2013 Return: In 
this case, the taxpayers’ 2013 
tax was deemed paid April 
15, 2014. They were able to 
request a refund two years 
from that date. But the return 
for the 2013 tax year was 
filed in October 2017, well 

past the two-year limit. What 
about the three-year rule? 
The taxpayers return for the 
2013 tax year was filed within 
the three-year limit. Howev-
er, refunds under the three-
year rule are limited to the 
amount of tax paid within the 
three-year period -- and in 
this case, the taxpayers had 
not paid any tax from Octo-
ber 17, 2017, to the present.  

⧫ Tax Year 2014 Return: In 
this case, the taxpayers' 2014 
tax was deemed paid April 
15, 2015. They were able to 
request a refund two years 
from that date. But the return 
for the 2014 tax year was 
filed in October 2017, which 
is past the time at which the 

tax for that year was deemed 
paid (in other words, well 
past the two-year limit). 
What about the three-year 
rule? The taxpayers return for 
the 2014 tax year was filed 
within the three-year limit. 
However, refunds under the 
three-year rule are limited to 
the amount of tax paid within 
the three-year period -- and 
in this case, the taxpayers had 
not paid any tax from Octo-
ber 17, 2017, to the present. 

The taxpayers asserted that 
because they did not owe tax 
for those years, there was no 
overpayment -- so the statute 
of limitation regarding refund 
requests does not apply. 

However, under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-30-86(b), 
a payment for a year of no tax 
liability is considered an over-
payment.  

On September 20, 2018,  
Hearing Officer Catherine R. 
Warren -- citing Rhode Island 
General Laws 44-30-87(a) -- 
concluded that the taxpayers 
are not entitled to the refund 
claimed and that the Division 
properly denied the taxpay-
ers’ claim for refund. 

On September 24, 2018, Tax 
Administrator Neena S. Sav-
age adopted the hearing of-
ficer’s decision and recom-
mendation. 

-- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2018-10 

(please turn to next page) 

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY 
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Legal Corner 

 

Tax hearings 

 

Any taxpayer aggrieved by 

the action of the Tax Divi-

sion in determining the 

amount of tax, surcharge, 

or penalty, may make writ-

ten request for a formal 

hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afford-

ed an opportunity to have a 

preliminary review. Should 

the matter not be resolved, 

it may then proceed to 

formal hearing under the 

terms of the state Adminis-

trative Procedures Act 

(RIGL § 42-35-1 et seq) and 

Tax Division regulation   

280-RICR-20-00-2. 

If not satisfied with the 

outcome, the taxpayer may 

appeal to Sixth Division 

District Court (RIGL § 8-8-

24 et seq). 

Rhode Island Tax News pro-

vides only summaries of 

some recent tax-case deci-

sions, which are based on 

specific facts and circum-

stances. 

The summaries are merely 

informative and provide 

general information. To 

determine how state tax 

laws and regulations apply 
to your particular circum-

stances, please consult your 

tax professional. 
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http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_10.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_10.pdf
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Nexus 

Editor’s Note: At issue, in 
this case involving sales 
and use tax, is whether 
there was substantial nexus 
between a Rhode Island 
retail store and an online 
store. 

This matter stems from a 
June 2013 Notice of Defi-
ciency issued by the Divi-
sion for unreported sales 
tax, covering the audit 
period February 9, 2009, 
through June 30, 2011. 

The hearing was held in 
April and June of 2016. 
Briefs were submitted 
January 2017, and the 
hearing officer issued her 
recommendation in March 
2017. 

Therefore, it should be 
noted that this Administra-
tive Decision is based on 
and limited to the specific 
facts in the case prior to 
the enactment in August 
2017 of Rhode Island’s law 
on non-collecting retailers, 
and before the U.S. Su-
preme Court’s decision in 
June 2018 on Wayfair. 

Due chiefly to its length, 
Final Decision and Order 
No. 2018-11 is not sum-
marized in this newsletter. 
Readers are ad-
vised to view or 
download a copy 
of the 50-page 
document, 
which is availa-
ble on the Divi-
sion’s website. 
Click here.   

Depreciation 

At issue is the proper method 
of determining accumulated 

depreciation under 
the personal prop-
erty tax imposed on 
telecommunications 
companies. 

Under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-
13-13, there’s a 

tangible personal property 
tax on public service corpo-
rations (utilities). It’s a local 
property tax, but it’s admin-
istered, assessed, and collect-
ed jointly by the Division of 
Taxation and Division of 
Municipal Finance. The reve-
nue is then distributed back 
to local municipalities. 

(Please turn to next page) 
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Statute of limitations for Rhode Island personal income tax refunds  [Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-87] 

A claim for credit or refund of an overpayment of tax must be filed within three years from the time the 

return was filed or two years from the time the tax was paid, whichever of the periods expires the later. 

 

             Three-year rule   
If the claim is filed within the three-year period, the amount of 

the credit or refund cannot exceed the amount of the tax paid 

within the three-year period. 

 

             Two-year rule      
If the claim is not filed within the three-year period, but is filed 

within the two-year period, the amount of the credit or refund 

cannot exceed the amount of the tax paid during the two years 

immediately preceding the filing of the claim. 

Note: Any income tax withheld from the taxpayer during any calendar year, and any amount paid as 

estimated income tax for a taxable year, is deemed to have been paid on the fifteenth day of the fourth 

month following the close of the taxable year for which the payments were being made. 
 

Example of how the rules apply 
 

Maria’s 2012 return was due on April 15, 2013. She actually filed the return on July 1, 2015. As a result, 

July 1, 2015, becomes the starting date for the three-year rule. The three-year period thus runs from 

July 1, 2015, to July 1, 2018. Were there any Rhode Island income tax payments attributable to 2012 

during this three-year period?  No. Thus, Maria does not pass the test under the three-year rule. 
 

When Maria worked in 2012, Rhode Island personal income tax was withheld from her wages each 

week for 52 weeks. By statute, the wage withholding was deemed paid on April 15, 2013. Maria then 

had two years from the April 15, 2013, payment date to file a 2012 return. Was the return filed within 

the two-year period? No. Maria does not pass either the three-year rule or the two-year rule. Her re-

fund claim is therefore denied.  
 

 When it comes to taxation, federal and state laws are often different -- no matter which state is involved. For 

example, Rhode Island laws and federal laws are not the same when it comes to personal income tax refunds. 
 

 

Decisions online 

The Division of Taxation’s 
website shows all Admin-
istrative Decisions since 

early 2011. (See screen-
shot above.) To view, click 

here. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_11.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_11.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_11.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/
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RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY (CONTINUED FROM PRIOR PAGE) 

In this case, the taxpayer was 
engaged in the business of 
providing telecommunica-
tions services and products in 
Rhode Island and was subject 
to the tangible per-
sonal property tax 
imposed on cable, 
telecommunica-
tions, and other 
companies under 
the law. 

The taxpayer -- 
chartered in another state and 
qualified to do business in 
Rhode Island -- challenged the 
amounts of accumulated de-
preciation used by the State 
for six years (calendar years 
2009 through 2014). 

The taxpayer asserted that, 
because of the method the 
State uses to calculate depre-
ciation, the tangible personal 
property assessment for cal-
endar years 2009 through 
2014 are excessive and re-

quested a partial refund for 
each of those years. 

The Division of Taxation 
denied the request, and the 
taxpayer timely requested a 

hearing. 

The taxpayer 
contended that 
accumulated 
depreciation of 
its assessed tan-
gible personal 
property should 

take into account all forms 
of depreciation, including 
physical depreciation, func-
tional obsolescence, and 
economic obsolescence.  

The Division said there’s no 
statutory basis for the tax-
payer’s legal interpretation; 
the Division’s interpretation 
is correct; and the refund 
claims should be denied. 

The Division said that the 
statute does not define de-

preciation, so the plain or 
commonly understood mean-
ing is to be applied. The eco-
nomic obsolescence or func-
tional obsolescence as pro-
posed by the taxpayer were 
not included in the definition 
at the time in a recognized 
dictionary. 

The Division argued that the 
simple definition is the rea-
sonable, plain, and ordinary 
meaning, and that the taxpay-
er’s position seeks to expand 
the statutory language. 

(There was no hearing in this 
case; the parties agreed that 
the decision be based on the 
agreed statement of facts and 
written briefs.) 

On October 19, 2018, the 
hearing officer concluded that 
depreciation for purposes of 
this case is to be given its plain 
and ordinary meaning as used 
by the Division. Therefore, 
she recommended that the 
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The Rhode Island State 
Council on the Arts is 

spreading the word (see 
above) about Rhode 

Island’s statewide sales 
tax exemption on the sale 
of original and limited 
edition works of art. 

Legal Corner 

Division’s assessments be 
upheld and that the taxpay-
er’s refund requests for 
those years be denied. On 
November 23, 2018, the 
tax administrator adopted 
the hearing officer’s final 
decision and order. 

-- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2019-12 

TAX CASE DECIDED IN DISTRICT COURT ;  DECLARATORY RULING POSTED 

  Court ruling 

  At issue was whether the 
taxpayers’ claim for a person-
al income tax refund for 2004 
should have been allowed. 

  The Division of Taxation had 
denied the refund request, 
citing (among other things) 
the limitations prescribed in 
statute. 

  Hearing Officer Catherine 
R. Warren determined in July 
2011 that the taxpayers were 
not entitled to the refund 
claimed and that the Division 

properly denied their 
claim. 

  David Sullivan (tax admin-
istrator at the time) in Au-
gust 2011 adopted the hear-
ing officer’s decision and 
recommendation. The tax-
payers appealed to the local 
District Court.  

  On October 29, 2018, 
Associate Judge Anthony 
Capraro affirmed the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s decision 
in the matter. 

  Judge Capraro upheld the 

Division’s interpretation of 
the relevant statute (Rhode 
Island General Laws § 44-30-
87) on the same basis that was 
decided in the Administrative 
Decision.  

  (The Division’s interpretation of 
the statute is also reflected in the 
box on page 8 of this newsletter.) 

  Judge Capraro’s ruling was 
not appealed.  

 

   Declaratory Ruling 

  The Division of Taxation 

recently posted its latest 
Declaratory Ruling. 

  In Ruling Request No. 
2018-01, the owner of a 
solar power project asks 
whether a number of items 
purchased/used for a solar 
photovoltaic system will be 
exempt from Rhode Island 
sales and use tax. 

  To view the Ruling and its 
detailed findings, click 
here. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_12.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2018/2018_12.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/declaratoryrulings/r2018-01.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/declaratoryrulings/r2018-01.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/declaratoryrulings/r2018-01.php
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: When completing 

Form RI-2220, 

“Underpayment of Esti-

mated Tax by Corporate 

Filers”, may I use the an-

nualization of income 

method? 

A: Yes. New 

for this filing 

season, cov-

ering the 

2018 tax 

year, the 

form has 

been revised 

to give tax-

payers the 

option to 

use the an-

nualization 

of income method.  

To use the method, check the 

box on the form (see red cir-

cle on screenshot below) and 

fill out Part 5, “Annualized 

Income Installment Work-

sheet” (as well as any other 

required lines). 

In effect, the method recog-

nizes that one or more in-

stallment payments during 

the year may have been less 

than the 

required 

install-

ments 

under the 

regular 

method 

(perhaps 

because 

income 

fluctuated 

during the 

year, in-

stead of being earned steadi-

ly during the year). Using 

the method can reduce in-

terest for the periods in-

volved. 

Q: My client holds rental 

real estate in a single-

member LLC, which is 

disregarded as separate 

from its owner for federal 

income tax purposes. He 

uses the calendar year as 

his tax year, files a U.S. 

Form 1040, and enters 

business income and ex-

penses involving his rent-

al real estate on Schedule 

E. On behalf of the single-

member LLC, he files 

Form RI-1065 each year, 

and checks the “SMLLC” 

box to indicate it’s a fil-

ing on behalf of a single-

member LLC. Must he 

attach a copy of the 

Schedule E to the LLC’s 

Form RI-1065? 

(Please see next page) 

 

  

  

About     

‘Practitioners’ Corner’ 
 

The “Practitioners’ Cor-

ner” feature provides gen-

eral answers to some of 

the questions that the Tax 

Division encounters 

through the normal course 

of business. 

The answers are intended 

solely to provide general 

information. They do not 

represent formal guidance, 

and are not substitutes for 

Rhode Island General Laws, 

Tax Division regulations, or 

Tax Division rulings. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES  (CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE) 

Practitioners’ Corner 

 

 

 

 

Personal income-tax 

reminder 
 

Payments of first-quarter 

estimated tax for tax year 

2019 are due on or before 

April 15, 2019. 
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A: He must use information 

from his U.S. Form 1040 to 

prepare his Form RI-1065. 

He is not required to attach, 

to his Form RI-1065, either 

his U.S. Form 1040 or any 

of its schedules. Thus, he is 

not required to attach his 

Schedule E.  

However, as his preparer, 

you should advise him to 

keep his complete U.S. 

Form 1040 on file and readi-

ly accessible should we need 

to examine it. 

You should also 

explain the pen-

alties and interest 

that apply for 

underreporting 

income. Further, 

you should remind your 

client that the Division of 

Taxation and the IRS regu-

larly share taxpayer infor-

mation and offset refunds 

for one another, and that a 

single-member LLC’s failure 

to file complete and accu-

rate Rhode Island returns 

and pay the associated filing 

charges can delay the issuing 

of a letter of good standing. 

Q: I use an online data-

base that I pay to access 

from time to time. Is 

that subject to Rhode 

Island sales and use tax? 

A: Yes. It is deemed to be 

“software as a service” (SaaS)  

and is subject to the 7 per-

cent sales and use tax. If the 

vendor does not charge you 

the sales tax, you are obligat-

ed to pay it to us in the form 

of a use tax. 

Q: I am a Rhode Island 

artist and would like to 

obtain a sales tax ex-

emption. Someone told 

me I must register first. 

Is that true? 

A: Yes. You must register 

with us by filling out a Busi-

ness Application and Regis-

tration (BAR) form (as 

someone who 

“makes sales at 

retail”) and pay the 

$10 fee. Once you 

have a sales per-

mit, you may ap-

ply for the exemp-

tion. Links to the 

registration process are 

available on the home page 

of our website: 

www.tax.ri.gov  

Q: When is the due date 

for a single-member 

LLC? 

A: The due date of the single

-member LLC’s annual re-

turn on Form RI-1065 is the 

same as that of the owner. 

For example, if the single-

member LLC is owned by an 

individual, the single-

member LLC’s Form RI-

1065 is due on or before 

April 15 -- because April 15 

is the filing deadline for the 

individual’s Form RI-1040.  

If the single-member LLC is 

owned by a calendar-year 

subchapter S corporation, the 

single-member LLC’s Form 

RI-1065 is due on or before 

March 15 -- because March 

15 is the filing deadline for a 

calendar-year subchapter S 

corporation’s Form RI-

1120S. A few other im-

portant points: 

• A single-member LLC 

must file an annual return 

on Form RI-1065 and pay 

the related annual filing 

charge, which is currently 

$400. The single-member 

LLC must check the 

“SMLLC” box on the cover 

of the form.  

• If the single-member LLC 

does not have a federal 

employer identification 

number (EIN), it must 

obtain one from the IRS 

and use that number when 

filing.  

• The single-member LLC 

need not attach any sched-

ules to its Form RI-1065 

(such as an individual own-

er’s Schedule C or Form 

U.S. 1040) 

Q: Can you deduct TDI 

tax? 

A: The amount withheld 

from your paycheck for 

Rhode Island’s temporary 

disability insurance program, 

can be claimed as an itemized 

deduction on your federal 

income tax return 
(assuming you itemize; 
most taxpayers do not). 
Following are some other 
points to keep in mind 
about TDI: 

• TDI benefits are not in-
cluded in federal adjusted 
gross income and are not 
taxable at the federal or 
at the Rhode Island level. 

• The TDI tax you pay 
cannot be included as 
Rhode Island withholding 
on your Rhode Island 
return. So do not include 
it on  Schedule W. Do 
not include it on line 14a 
of the Rhode Island resi-
dent return (Form RI-
1040). Do not include it 
on line 17a of the Rhode 
Island nonresident return 
(Form RI-1040NR). 

• For those who pay TDI 
tax and file a Massachu-
setts personal income tax 
return, click here to 
learn about the treatment 
of TDI tax for Massachu-
setts purposes. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov
https://www.mass.gov/directive/revised-directive-12-1-gl-c-62-s-6a-credit-for-taxes-paid-to-another-jurisdiction
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REMINDERS FOR LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES (LLCS) 

L imited liability compa-
nies (LLCs) are required 

under Rhode Island law to file 
an annual return with the 
Rhode Island Division of Tax-
ation and pay an annual tax or 
fee.  

  Which form to file and 
which tax/fee to pay depends 
on the LLC. 

  If the LLC is treated as a pass
-through entity and not as a 
corporation for federal tax 
purposes, it must file Form RI
-1065 and pay an annual 
charge (see table below). 

  If the LLC is treated as a 
corporation for federal tax 
purposes, it must file Form RI
-1120C each year and pay the 
Rhode Island corporate in-
come tax. 

Filing deadlines 

  In general, the annual tax 
filing deadline is March 15 for 
an LLC treated as a pass-
through entity, while the 
deadline is April 15 for an 
LLC treated as a corporation 
for federal tax purposes.  

  A single-member LLC (also 
known as a SMLLC) uses the 
same filing deadline as its 
owner. For example, if the 
owner is an individual, the 

SMLLC return and payment 
are due April 15. 

  The Rhode Island filing and 
payment requirements sum-
marized here also apply for 
any full or partial year in 
which the business is in ex-
istence, including the year in 
which the business is formed 
and the year in which the 
business dissolves.  

  For more information, see 
the applicable form and re-
lated instructions by clicking 
here. 

  An LLC whose members 
include one or more nonres-
idents generally must with-
hold and remit Rhode Island 
tax and file RI-1096PT each 
year reporting the income 
flowing through and the 
amount of nonresident 
Rhode Island tax withheld.         

  Nonresident individuals 
and entities are required to 
file the appropriate Rhode 
Island tax returns reporting 
the pass-through income and 
any pass-through withheld 
tax. In some instances, Form 
RI-1040C may be filed. 

  For forms and information 
related to pass-through in-
come and pass-through with-
held tax, click here and 

here. For employer tax in-
formation, click here. 

  In general, for an LLC 
treated as a corporation for 
federal tax purposes, for tax 
years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2015, the tax is 7 
percent of net income, or 
the minimum tax, whichever 
amount is greater. For prior 
years, corporations paid the 
Rhode Island corporate in-
come tax or the franchise 
tax, whichever amount was 
greater. (For rates and other 
information, please see the 
applicable tax form.)  

Sale or transfer   

  Keep in mind that an LLC 
must notify the Division at 
least five business days be-
fore the sale or transfer of a 
major part in value of the 
LLC’s assets.  

  The notification must be 
made by requesting a letter 
of good standing from the 
Division.  

  All required tax returns 
must be filed and all Rhode 
Island state taxes paid when 
the Tax Administrator is 
notified of the sale or trans-
fer. 
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Tax Talk: Leo Lebeuf (left), chief revenue agent at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation, talks with tax preparers at the Division’s “Seminar 

for Tax Preparers” held at the Community College of Rhode Island’s Knight 
Campus in Warwick in December. 

TAX YEAR ANNUAL CHARGE 

                   2017 (and later years) $400 

2016 $450 

2015 $500 

The annual charge – sometimes called the annual fee, filing fee, or filing charge – is $400 for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017; 

$450 for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, but before January 1, 2017; $500 for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, 

but before January 1, 2016; $250 for 2003 and prior. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/corporate.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/passthrough_composite.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/passthrough_entities.php
http://www.uitax.ri.gov/
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The Division also thanks Hearing Officer Catherine 
Warren for her assistance. 
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