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Sharp increase in e-filing 
 
Electronic filing of Rhode Island personal 
income tax returns has jumped 11.4 
percent so far this year.  
 
The number of e-filed returns totaled 
415,367 as of June 1, 2011, up from 
372,834 at June 2, 2010. E-filing is up 
45.4 percent from June 3, 2008, when 
there were 285,660 e-filed returns. 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
Electronic filing is also accounting for a 
greater and greater portion of the overall 
number of returns filed each year. 
 
In the 2008 filing season, for example, 
53.45 percent of Rhode Island personal 
income tax returns were e-filed. By 2011 
the figure had risen to 74.15 percent. 
 
The numbers make it clear that, as each 
tax-filing season passes, more and more 
taxpayers and preparers are using e-file, 
and taking advantage of its benefits – 
which include prompt and accurate 
processing, faster issuing of refunds, and 
the option to have a Rhode Island refund 
deposited directly into the taxpayer's bank 
or credit union account. 
 
E-filing mandate 
 
For many practitioners, e-filing is not an 
option – it’s required under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-1-31.1. The Tax 
Administrator implemented provisions of 
the law in early 2009 by issuing Reg. ELF 
09-01.    (Please turn to page 2) 
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Welcome to Rhode Island Tax News, a quarterly newsletter from the Rhode Island Department of 
Revenue's Division of Taxation. Through this newsletter, we intend to keep you posted on recent developments 
and what's on the horizon. We'll also include some key dates and other reminders. The newsletter is distributed 
at no charge, by e-mail, to those who have joined our listserv. If you are not on our listserv but would like to join, 
send an email to Susan.Galvin@tax.ri.gov with the word SUBSCRIBE in uppercase in the subject block.   
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The mandate applies 
to paid preparers of 
Rhode Island 
personal and 
corporate income tax 
returns and other 
types of Rhode Island 
tax returns. 
 
The regulation 
generally says that 
paid preparers who 
prepare more than 
100 Rhode Island tax 
returns in the prior 
year must file Rhode 
Island tax returns for 
their clients electronically with the Division 
of Taxation. 
 
The federal mandate will soon implement a 
stricter standard. For this year, the federal 
mandate generally applies to practitioners 
filing more than 100 returns. Next year, 
however, it will generally apply to 
practitioners filing more than 10 returns. 
  
 The Rhode Island e-file regulation: 

http://go.usa.gov/ZqP 
 The federal e-file regulation: 

www.irs.gov/pub/irs-utl/td9518.pdf 
 
 

E-file for business soars 
 
The Division of Taxation launched its e-file 
program for corporate tax returns late last 
year, as a kind of dry run. At the time, one 
tax preparation software company 
participated, and only 127 returns were 
filed. 
            
This season – the first full season for 
corporate e-file – the numbers have 
skyrocketed. 
 
A total of 6,179 business corporation tax 
returns were e-filed as of June 18, and four 
software companies are taking part. 
 
Thus, of the estimated 20,422 corporate 
returns filed so far this year, more than 30 
percent have been e-filed. The Division 
expects the number of e-filed corporate 
returns to keep rising - as more 
practitioners learn of the advantages, and 
more practitioners urge their software 

providers to offer 
corporate e-file for 
Rhode Island. 
 
With corporate e-filing, 
practitioners get an 
immediate response 
that the return has been 
accepted. The overall 
system is faster, more 
efficient, and cuts down 
on errors. 
 
Keep in mind, too, that 
corporate e-file can be 
used for returns 
showing a balance due, 

a refund, or no change. 
 
 Of the 6,179 corporate returns e-filed 

so far this year, 4,265 returns – about 
70 percent of the total – had a balance 
due. 

 
 

E-filing attachments 
 
Practitioners will soon be able to scan 
documents and attach them, as PDFs, to a 
variety of electronically filed returns. 
 
It's the result of a new IRS e-file system, 
known as Modernized e-File, or MeF. 
 
Modernized e-File is a web-based system 
that provides electronic filing and payment 
options for individuals and businesses. 
 
The Internal Revenue Service, which is 
phasing in MeF, describes it as the next 
generation of electronic filing: 
 
 acknowledgements will be sent within 

minutes instead of 48 hours; 
 if a return is rejected, a detailed 

message will let taxpayers quickly fix 
errors and resend the return; and 

 MeF uses a transactional based platform 
that allows for the frequent 
transmission of returns (whereas legacy 
e-file is based on batch processing that 
required many returns to be sent all at 
once several times a day). 

 
Because Rhode Island has been a long-
time participant in the federal/state e-file 
program, Rhode Island is keeping up with 
the MeF changes at the federal level. 

 
Filing 

season 

 
Total 

individual 
returns 

 

 
Number of 
returns e-

filed 

 
Portion 
e-filed 

 
2011 

 

 
552,810 

 
415,367 

 
75.14% 

 
2010 

 

 
554,870 

 
372,834 

 
67.19% 

 
2009 

 

 
536,175 

 
343,181 

 
64.00% 

 
2008 

 

 
534,433 

 
285,660 

 
53.45% 

 
Data as of early June for each year. 
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Tax Administrator prevails 
in medical surcharge case 

 
A Rhode Island district court judge has 
denied and dismissed an appeal by 
several medical providers involving 
certain surcharges. 
 
At issue is a law enacted in 2007 
establishing a 2 percent surcharge on 
the net patient services revenue of 
outpatient health care facilities –  
generally ambulatory surgery centers 
(RIGL § 44-64) -- and on imaging 
services, such as x-rays, ultrasounds, 
CT scans, and MRIs (RIGL § 44-65).  
 
The medical practices paid the 
required tax, but also filed claims for 
refunds. The Division of Taxation 
denied the claims in 2008 and the 
medical practices filed for an 
administrative appeal. Later that year, 
the Tax Administrator denied the 
appeal, and the medical providers 
appealed in District Court, Sixth 
Division. 
 
The plaintiffs asserted that the 
surcharges were unconstitutional. 
They said in part that the surcharges 
were vague and ambiguous and failed 
to provide adequate notice to affected 
taxpayers. 
 
The Tax Administrator asserted that 
the surcharges are constitutional, are 
neither vague nor ambiguous, and 
have terms that can be reasonably 
understood. 
 
A judge ruled in November 2010 that 
the plaintiffs "failed to meet their 
burden to prove that either of the 
medical surcharge acts is repugnant to 
the state or federal constitution." The 
plaintiffs did not appeal. 
 
Read the decision: 
http://go.usa.gov/WIy 
 
Other medical providers whose claims 
for refund have been held in abeyance 
pending the outcome of the case are 
being contacted by the Tax Division to 
let them know how the case turned out 
and to see how they want to proceed. 

 
One result is that preparers (and others) 
will soon be able to attach PDF documents 
– such as detailed statements or 
spreadsheets – to a taxpayer's 
electronically filed federal and Rhode 
Island returns. 
 
Modernized e-File has been in development 
for several years at the federal level, but 
will be expanding for the filing season that 
starts in January – covering far more forms 
that it does now. 
 
More forms and schedules 
 
For example, for the 2011 filing season, 
Modernized e-File supported 23 federal 
forms and schedules. For the 2012 filing 
season, it is to support an additional 128 
forms and schedules, for a total of 151. 
That will expand the program's reach to 
the entire e-file population of individual 
filers, the IRS says. 
 
The joint federal/state e-file program  
allows for the electronic filing of both 
federal and state income tax returns at the 
same time. The software places the federal 
and state return data in separate packets. 
The packets are transmitted to the IRS in 
one taxpayer "envelope." The IRS 
functions as an electronic post office for 
the participating state, which receives and 
processes the state electronic return. 
 
As of December 31, 2010, Rhode Island 
was one of 37 states (plus the District of 
Columbia) taking part in the program. 
Other New England participants include 
Connecticut and Vermont. 
 
 Don't forget that you can now e-file 

Form 1065, the Rhode Island 
partnership income information return. 

 
 

Electronic payments 
 
E-filing? You can e-pay, too. And the 
Division of Taxation allows for the 
electronic payment of many different types 
of taxes, including withholding tax, sales 
and use tax, business corporation tax, fuel 
tax, hotel tax, and the meals and beverage 
tax. EFT allows business taxpayers to 
make payments electronically using the 
Automated Clearing House (ACH) system. 
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With ACH debit, the taxpayer authorizes 
the electronic withdrawal of a prearranged 

sum from the 
taxpayer's bank or 
credit union account. 
With ACH credit, the 
taxpayer authorizes 
the bank or credit 

union to send the payment electronically to 
the state's accounts.  
 
For more information, contact the 
Division's EFT section by phone at (401) 
574-8484 or by email: 
daniel.clemence@tax.ri.gov. 
 
 Learn more: http://www.tax.ri.gov/eft/ 
 Sign up: http://go.usa.gov/ZqE 
 Taxes you can pay electronically: 

http://go.usa.gov/Zqm 

 
Changes on the way 
for sales tax coupons 
 
If you're a retailer, you typically receive 
your new sales and use tax permit by July 
1 every year, along with a booklet of 
payment coupons (technically known as 
sales and use tax returns). 
 
But this time around, there'll be a 
difference. You'll still receive your sales tax 
permit. But you'll receive, at a later date, a 
supply of temporary payment coupons 
instead of the usual booklet. 
 
The reason has to do with uncertainty over 
what will happen in the current legislative 
session regarding the rate and reach of 
Rhode Island's sales tax. 
 
This year’s General Assembly session is 
coming to a close. If the Division of 
Taxation were to distribute the usual 
coupon booklets now – covering the full 
year which starts July 1, 2011 – and state 
law is changed, the Tax Division would 

have to spend money and time preparing 
and distributing replacement booklets. 
 
As a result, the Tax Division will soon mail 
out your sales tax permit and, at a later 
date, a supply of coupons. 
 
Furthermore, the Tax Division will not mail 
the usual payment coupon booklets for the 
year which starts July 1. 
 
 
 If you have questions about these 

changes, call us at (401) 574-8955. 
 
 Please note that the Tax Division will 

not be mailing out the usual coupon 
booklet for the year which starts July 
1. 

 
 For updates on this and other tax 

issues, be sure to check our website: 
www.tax.ri.gov 

 
 

  
 

Sales tax payment via EFT 
 
If you remit sales tax via EFT, you will not 
be affected by the changes outlined above. 
  
You should receive your permit(s) on 
schedule by mail by the end of June 2011, 
ready for display July 1, 2011.  
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'Blocks' on sales tax permits 
 
The overwhelming majority of retailers are 
current on their taxes and receive the 
annual sales tax permit, ready for posting 
July 1. 
 
But a comparatively small number of 
retailers – about 1,500 overall – will not 
receive their permits: A “block” has been 
placed on their accounts, preventing 
renewal of their sales tax permits, because 
they are delinquent in certain state taxes – 
sales, meals and beverage, hotel and/or 
withholding tax – and have not made 
arrangements to pay. 
 
If you're delinquent on taxes and your 
account has been blocked, contact your 
revenue officer at the Tax Division. 
 
 The main number for the Tax Division's 

collections area is (401) 574-8941. 
 
Missing permits 
 
If you applied for renewal of your sales tax 
permit, but have not received your permit 
by July 1 – and you're not delinquent on 
taxes and your account hasn't been 
blocked – call the Tax Division's main 
number at (401) 574-8829 and choose 
option 7. 
 

 
 

 

                       
 

Fireworks and taxes 
 
Independence Day and other seasonal 
holidays usually spark some fireworks. 
And this is the first full year in which 
certain fireworks can be legally sold in 
Rhode Island. 
 
So if you are involved in the retail sale of 
fireworks, remember that fireworks are 
subject to Rhode Island's 7 percent 
sales tax. 
 
No matter when they are sold, and no 
matter where they are sold – at roadside 
stands or in big-box stores, for example 
– legal fireworks are now taxable; illegal 
fireworks remain taxable. 
 

Legal fireworks include: 
 
 ground-based and hand-held 

sparkling devices, including cylindrical 
fountains, cone fountains, illuminating 
torches, wheels, ground spinners, 
flitter sparklers, and sparkers; and 

 
 novelties, including party poppers, 

snappers, toy smoke devices, 
snakes, toy caps, glow worms, wire 
sparklers and dipped sticks. 

 
 

Illegal fireworks include: 
 
 Firecrackers 
 
 Rockets 
 
 Mortars 
 
 Other such devices that launch a 

projectile and/or make a "bang" or 
detonation or report. 

 
Source: RIGL § 11-13-1; R.I. State Fire Marshal 

How retailers pay 
R.I. sales taxes 

 
 
 

Method: 

 
 

Sales tax 
permits: 

 

 
 

% of 
permits: 

 
Electronic 
payment 

 
 

16,930 

 
 

55% 
 

 
Coupon 
booklet 

 
 

14,070 

 
 

45% 
 

 
Total: 

 
31,000 

 
100% 
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Tax Administrator’s  
committee posts report 
 
Months of work at the federal level by 
Rhode Island Tax Administrator David M. 
Sullivan have now borne fruit: The 
committee on which he serves – the 
Electronic Tax Administration Advisory 
Committee (ETAAC) – issued its “Annual 
Report to Congress” on June 15. 

 
Sullivan was appointed to the committee in 
November. He is one of 14 people 
nationwide serving on the panel, which was 
established in 1998 as a result of the IRS 
Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998 
(Public Law 105-206). The report is the 
result of research and analysis as well as 
meetings with senior IRS executives. 

 
The report includes recommendations 
regarding standards for security and 
accuracy for the electronic tax community; 
the Modernized e-file (MeF) platform; 
barriers to e-filing employment tax 
returns; tax filing simplification; and 
collaboration and partnership with the 
electronic filing community. 
 
Sullivan was appointed state tax 
administrator in July 2006 and oversees 
the Rhode Island Department of Revenue’s 
Division of Taxation.  
 
 The report: http://go.usa.gov/WIn 
 The statement: http://go.usa.gov/WIP 
 
 

Scholarship credit 

 
Business entities seeking a state tax credit 
for contributions they make to qualified 
scholarship organizations in Rhode Island 
must file their applications with the Tax 
Division starting July 1. 
 
The program (RIGL § 44-62) is generally 
intended to encourage businesses to make 
voluntary cash contributions to qualified 
scholarship organizations, which use the 
funds to help pay tuition for needy 
students attending non-public elementary 
or secondary schools in Rhode Island. The 
contributing businesses may be eligible for 

a state tax credit (to a maximum of 
$100,000 per business per tax year). 
 
Among the businesses that may be eligible 
for the credit are banks, insurance 
companies and public service corporations. 
Also on the list are pass-throughs, such as 
S corporations, limited liability companies 
and limited liability partnerships. (The 
credit is allowed on the individual return of 
a shareholder, member or partner.) 
 
The Tax Division will distribute the credits 
on a first-come, first-serve basis. 
Because there is an overall limit 
on the amount of credits the Tax 
Division may distribute under the 
program, the agency may have 
to hold a lottery – probably in 
July – if the credits are 
oversubscribed. Applicants will be notified.  
 
 Learn more: http://go.usa.gov/ZqF 
 
 
 

Litter control permits 
 
If you hold a Rhode Island sales tax 
permit, and sales relate in whole or in part 
to the taxable sales of food and/or 
beverages, you must apply for a litter 
control participation permit on or before 
August 1. The permit fee depends on the 
gross receipts at each location for the prior 
calendar year. If you do not pay the fee, 
you will not be able to renew the sales tax 
permit. There are about 6,000 applicants 
each year for the litter control permit. 

 Learn more: http://go.usa.gov/Zqy 

 
Tax credit report due 
 
A business must report to the Division of 
Taxation by August 15 the source and 
amount of any bonds, grants, loans, loan 
guarantees, matching funds or tax credits 
that the business received from any state 
governmental entity, state agency or 
public agency (RIGL § 37-2-7) for the fiscal 
year ended June 30, 2011. 
 
The reporting requirement is the result of 
disclosure and accountability legislation 
approved by the General Assembly and 
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signed into law by then-Gov. Donald L. 
Carcieri in July 2008. 
 
 To report, use R.I. Form TC-100. 
 
 

Letters of good standing 
 
Requests for letters of good standing are 
no longer handled by the Tax Division’s 
Corporate Tax section. They are now 
handled by the Office Audit section. 
 
Click here to select the form that applies to 
your situation: http://go.usa.gov/Zqp 
 
The forms include mailing and other 
instructions. For more information, call us 
at (401) 574-8756. 
 
Reminder: A domestic company that is 
dissolving, or a foreign company that is 
withdrawing from Rhode Island, must 
formally notify the Rhode Island Secretary 
of State’s Office – and must obtain a letter 
of good standing in advance of the filing 
with the Secretary of State. 
 
Until you formally dissolve or withdraw, the 
business will still be subject to the 
corporate minimum tax or fee, or the 
franchise tax. 
 

New option for insurers 
 
Insurance companies and surplus lines 
licensees can now file their tax returns and 
make tax payments – including estimated 
payments – electronically using a system 
called Online Premium Tax for Insurance, 
or OPTins, developed by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners. 
 
OPTins is an ideal way to comply with RIGL 
§ 44-1-31, which requires that any tax 
payment exceeding $10,000 be made 
electronically, via EFT. 
 
Nearly 3,000 entities file to Rhode Island 
the Form T-71, "Insurance Company Gross 
Premiums Return," and the Form T-71A, 
"Surplus Line Broker Return of Gross 
Premiums." 
 
So far, about 1,100 gross-premiums filers, 
and about 130 surplus-lines filers, are 
participating in OPTins. Thus, about one-
third of filers overall are taking advantage 

of OPTins for filing annual returns, or 
estimated returns, or both. 
 
 Learn more: http://go.usa.gov/Zqv 
 See also: http://www.optins.org/ 
 
 

Tax Division on facebook 
 
The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation has reserved its own 
facebook page.  
 
For now, it includes just the 
basics. In time, we plan to use 
it as a means to convey basic 
information as well as some news and 
updates. 
 
 See our page: http://tinyurl.com/6allcm5 
 
 

R.I. Form 1040 revisions 
 
The Tax Division is in the process of 
updating personal income tax forms to 
reflect changes to the personal income tax 
under RIGL § 44-30-2.6. The changes are 
the result of legislation approved by the 
General Assembly and signed into law by 
then-Governor Donald L. Carcieri last year. 
 
The changes took effect January 1, 2011, 
and could have an impact this year, for 
tax-planning and other reasons.  
 
Following is a summary of some of the 
changes that are now in effect: 
 
Brackets: There are now three brackets. 
(The old system had five.) All taxpayers 
use the same set of brackets, no matter 
their filing status. 
 
Tax rates: There are three rates: 3.75 
percent, 4.75 percent, and 5.99 percent. 
(Under the old system, there were five 
rates, ranging from 3.75 percent to 9.90 
percent.) 
 
Top tax rate: Under the new system, 
the top rate has fallen, to 5.99 percent 
from 9.90 percent, for 2011 and later tax 
years. 
 
Standard deduction: Standard 
deduction amounts for 2011 are greater 
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than they were for 2010 (although a 
phase-out applies; see below for details). 

 
Special standard deduction: A 
special standard deduction amount was 
formerly available for a taxpayer 65 or 
older or blind. The amount was determined 
by using a special Rhode Island deduction 
schedule. But the special standard 
deduction does not apply for 2011 or later 
tax years. 
 
Itemized deductions: Itemized 
deductions are no longer allowed. 
 
Exemptions: Each personal and 
dependency exemption amount for 2011 is 
$3,500, compared with $3,650 for 2010 
(although a phase-out applies for 2011 and 
later years; see below). 
 
Phase-outs: The standard deduction and 
personal and dependency exemption 
amounts are phased out for any taxpayer 
whose modified adjusted gross income 
(MAGI) for Rhode Island purposes exceeds 
$175,000. The standard deduction and 
exemption amounts are reduced by 20 
percent for each $5,000 (or fraction 
thereof) by which MAGI exceeds $175,000. 

 
 Neither the standard deduction nor the 

personal/dependency exemption is 
allowed when MAGI exceeds $195,000. 

 
Federal credits: The only federal credit 
that Rhode Island now allows is the credit 
for child and dependent care expenses. 
 
Capital gains: Capital gains continue to 
be treated as ordinary income for state tax 
purposes. 
 
State credits: The list of state credits 
allowed to be applied against the personal 
income tax is now limited to the following: 
 Rhode Island earned income credit; 
 statewide property tax relief credit; 
 lead paint credit; 
 credit for income taxes paid to other 

states; 
 historic structures tax credit; 
 motion picture production tax credit; 
 credits for contributions to qualified 

scholarship organizations; and 
 credit for tax withheld. 
 
 Learn more:  http://go.usa.gov/Zqw 
 

 

TDI refunds 
 
If you worked more than one job last year, 
and paid more than $694.80 in tax to 
Rhode Island’s Temporary Disability 
Insurance (TDI) program, you may be 
eligible for a TDI tax refund. (The TDI tax 
rate for 2010 was 1.2 percent, applied to a 
taxable wage base of $57,900.)  
 
Instructions for claiming a refund are 
included on the refund claim form, TX-16: 
http://go.usa.gov/ZqL 

 

 
R.I. standard deduction 

 
 
 

Filing 
status: 

 

 
 
 

TY 2010: 

 
 
 

TY 2011: 

 
Single 

 
$5,700 

 
$7,500 

 
 

Married 
filing jointly 
or qualifying 
widow(er) 

 

 
 

$9,550 

 
 

$15,000 

 
Head of 

household 
 

 
$8,400 

 
$11,250 

 
Married 
filing 

separately 
 

 
 

$4,750 

 
 

$7,500 
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Legal corner 

 
Following is a summary of tax-related 

cases in which final decisions were made 
after administrative hearings. (By law, 
decisions are public information, but  

taxpayer information cannot be disclosed.) 
 

◊◊◊ 

 
Sales tax 

 
The taxpayer, a software retailer, had sales 
of software, consulting charges related to 
the sales of software, maintenance 
contracts for software leasing, and other 
items. 
 
The Tax Division said that the taxpayer’s 
sales of software and related services were 
interwoven and could not be separated 
out; all were subject to the state’s 7 
percent sales and use tax under RIGL § 
44-18. 
 
Hearing Officer Catherine R. Warren 
concluded that the taxpayer owed the 
assessed sales tax, plus interest and 
penalties. Tax Administrator David M. 
Sullivan on May 27 adopted the hearing 
officer’s decision and recommendation. 

- Case No. 10-T-0006 
 

◊◊◊ 

 
Income tax 

 
The taxpayer filed a Rhode Island 
nonresident return for two separate years, 
each time well past the due date. The 
taxpayer claimed a refund for both years, 
but was denied. 
 
Rhode Island has strict rules governing the 
time periods within which a refund may be 
claimed. In this regard, state law does not 
follow the Internal Revenue Code in its 
entirety. 
Based on RIGL § 44-30-87, the Tax 
Division denied the taxpayer’s refund 
claims because the claims were made out 
of time. Warren determined that the 
taxpayer is not entitled to the refunds  
 

claimed, and that the Tax Division properly 
denied the taxpayer’s claims. Sullivan on 
May 27 adopted the hearing officer’s 
decision and recommendation. 

- Case No. 10-T-0021 
 

◊◊◊ 
 

Litter permit fee 
  
Those who sell beverage containers (and 
certain other items) must apply each year 
for a permit. The permit fee depends on 
the applicant’s gross receipts. 
 
The taxpayer – who ran a gas station, car 
wash and small retail operation – asserted 
that, under RIGL § 44-44-1 et seq, the 
definition of “gross receipts” does not 
include any items that are exempt from 
state sales tax, such as gasoline. 
 
The Tax Division said that the definition 
includes items that are exempt from state 
sales tax, so gasoline sales should be 
counted toward gross receipts. The hearing 
officer concluded that gasoline sales should 
be counted, the Tax Division properly 
calculated the taxpayer’s permit fee, and 
that the Tax Division properly assessed a 
10 percent penalty plus interest. Sullivan 
on May 31 adopted the hearing officer’s 
decision and recommendation. 

- Case No. 10-T-0024 
 

◊◊◊ 
 

Trust fund 
 
Following a special investigation field audit, 
the Tax Division determined that the 
taxpayer had collected sales tax on some 
items but had not remitted the tax. 
 
In addition, the taxpayer – incorporated in 
Massachusetts, with a place of business in 
Rhode Island –  did not properly charge 
sales tax on some taxable items. 
 
Citing RIGL § 44-18-1 et seq., and RIGL § 
44-19-1 et seq., Warren determined that 
the taxpayer owed the trust fund 
assessment, the additional sales tax 
assessment, plus interest and penalties. 
Sullivan on June 15 adopted the hearing 
officer’s decision and recommendation. 

- Case No. 11-T-0004 
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Notice to readers 
 

The purpose of this newsletter is to provide tax professionals with general information regarding 
Rhode Island tax laws, regulations and procedures. It is neither designed nor intended to address 
complex issues in detail. Nothing contained in this newsletter in any way alters or otherwise 
changes any provisions of the Rhode Island General Laws, Regulations of the Division of Taxation 
or formal rulings. 

-- Tax Administrator David M. Sullivan 

◊◊◊ 
 

Domicile 
 
The main issue was whether the taxpayer 
was a Rhode Island resident for state tax 
purposes under RIGL § 44-30-5, subject to 
Rhode Island personal income tax. 
 
The Tax Division asserted that he owned a 
house in Rhode Island and another in New 
York, changed his driver’s license to Rhode 
Island, and voted in Rhode Island. 
 
The taxpayer asserted that he bought the 
Rhode Island house as part of an effort to 
launch a farm in the state, but that the 
New York house was larger than the Rhode 
Island house and was the center for family 
events.  
 
Warren determined that the taxpayer was 
a domiciliary of Rhode Island for 2006, and 
owes personal income tax to Rhode Island 
for that year, plus interest and penalties. 
Sullivan on June 13 adopted the hearing 
officer’s decision and recommendation. 

- Case No. 11-T-0010 
 
 
 

Calendar: key dates 
 
July 31: Due date for quarterly reports on 
sales and use tax (for taxpayers given 
special written permission from Tax 
Administrator to file quarterly). 
 
July 31: Due date for employers to file 
their next quarterly tax and wage report – 
reflecting state unemployment insurance 
tax, the job development tax, and TDI tax. 
For the unemployment insurance tax, there 
are 31,519 “contributory” employers 
(mainly businesses), and 1,161 
“reimbursable” employers (mainly cities, 
towns and some nonprofits). 

 
September 15: Third installment due for  
quarterly estimated payments of personal 
income tax. 
 
September 15: Filing deadline for 
calendar year corporate taxpayers on 
extension. 
 
 This deadline involves the Form 1120C 

and 1120S (though the agency will 
accept the Form 1120S as late as late 
as Oct. 17 this year). 

 

Contributions 
 
The following Division of Taxation staff  
members contributed to this issue of 
Rhode Island Tax News: 
 

Loriann Baccari 
Michael F. Canole 

Philip D’Ambra 
Gary Danella 
Donna Dube 

Donald Englert 
Luisa Finelli 

Susan Galvin 
Paul Guertin 

Charles Larocque 
Matthew Lawlor 

Leo Lebeuf 
 Bernard Lemos 
Gail McNamee 
Peter McVay 

Linda Riendeau 
David M. Sullivan 

 

Comments 
 

If you have comments or suggestions 
regarding Rhode Island Tax News, 

please e-mail its editor, Neil Downing: 
Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov 


