
More than 120 tax preparers 
previewed the tax changes at 

the Division of Taxation’s sem-
inar in November (see photo 

below) at the Community Col-
lege of Rhode Island in War-
wick. In this edition of the 

newsletter, coverage of tax year 
2016 starts on page 2. 

R hode Island’s annual 
corporate minimum 

tax has dropped by 10 per-
cent for 2016 and later 
years. In addition, pass-
through entities are seeing a 
reduction in their annual 
filing charge for 2016 and 
later years.  

  Those are just two of the 
changes for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2016. Also, Rhode Island’s 
earned income credit is 
12.5 percent of the federal 
credit for 2016, up from 10 
percent for 2015, and many 
taxpayers will benefit. 

WHAT’S NEW FOR TAX YEAR 2016 

LEADERSHIP CHANGES AT TAX DIVISION 

T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation has a 

new leader. Tax Adminis-
trator David M. Sullivan 
stepped down in December 
to take a job in the private 

sector. He had served as tax 
administrator since 2006. 

  Governor Gina M. Rai-
mondo in December named 
Neena S. Savage as acting 

tax administrator. Savage, 
an attorney, was assistant 
tax administrator.  

(For more information, please 
turn to page 7.) 
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TAX YEAR 2016 :  REDUCTION IN CORPORATE MINIMUM TAX 
  A tax break has arrived for 
corporations and pass-through 
entities. 

  Effective for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2016, the annual corporate 
minimum tax is reduced by 
10 percent.  

  The tax, under Rhode Island 
General Laws (RIGL) § 44-11
-2(e), had been set at $500 
since 2004.  However, effec-
tive for tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2016, the 

tax has dropped to $450. 

  The tax cut is the result of 
legislation approved by the 
General Assembly and 
signed into law by Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo in June 
2015. 

Pass-through entities 

  For pass-through entities, 
the tax under RIGL § 44-11-
2(e) is known as an annual 
charge, annual filing fee, or 
annual fee. 

Therefore, the 10 percent 
reduction (to $450 for 2016 
and later years) applies to 
subchapter S corporations, 
limited liability companies, 
limited partnerships, limited 
liability partnerships, and 
other such entities that are 
treated as pass-through enti-
ties for federal income tax 
purposes. (The reduction 
also applies to single-
member LLCs, which are 
also subject to the annual 
fee.) 

At a glance:                                            
Minimum annual tax for 2016 

C corporations $450 

S corporations $450 

limited liability 
companies 

$450 

limited partnerships $450 

limited liability 
partnerships 

$450 

Pass-through entities pay an annual charge, or 
annual filing fee, equivalent to annual corporate 
minimum tax. 

Tax Seminar: More 
than 100 tax preparers 
attended the Division of 
Taxation’s “Seminar for 
Tax Preparers” held at 
the Community College 
of Rhode Island’s New-
port County campus in 
December. The event 
focused on what’s new 

for filing season, what’s 
new for tax year 2016, 

and other topics. 

Withholding tables for 2016 

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation has posted on its 
website the booklet of income 
tax withholding tables for tax 
year 2016.  

  Employers use the tables to 
calculate how much to with-
hold from an employee’s pay 
for Rhode Island personal 
income tax purposes. The 

booklet also includes a copy 
of the 2016 version of Form 
RI W-4, “Employee’s With-
holding Allowance Certifi-
cate.”  

More information 

The “Practitioners’ Corner” 
feature, which starts on page 

13, includes some Q&As 
about tax year 2015 and 

2016.  



   

 

 

 

 

Use tax due on    
overseas purchases 

 
The Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation reminds those travel-
ing abroad about their Rhode 

Island use tax obligations: 
 

If you buy something in another 
country, something that would 
be subject to sales tax if pur-
chased in Rhode Island, you 
must pay Rhode Island’s 7 
percent use tax. The tax is 

applied to the sales price, in-
cluding all services necessary to 
make the sale (such as mainte-

nance and delivery charges). 
 

For instance, suppose you trav-
eled to another country last 
year, bought a computer for 

$1,000, and brought it home. 
You would owe Rhode Island’s 7 

percent use tax on that pur-
chase, for a total of $70 in this 
example. (No credit is allowed 
for sales tax, VAT tax, or other 
such tax paid in another coun-

try.) 
 

Purchases of taxable items in 
other countries may be reported 
on Form RI T-205, “Consumer's 
Use Tax Return,” which is avail-

able online at the Division of 
Taxation website: www.tax.ri.gov 
(They may also be reported on 
your personal income tax re-

turn.) 
 

Please note: Like many other 
states, Rhode Island receives 
information from the U.S. De-

partment of Homeland Security 
on items that consumers pur-

chase in other countries. 
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TAX YEAR 2016 :  TDI TAX RATE AND WAGE BASE SET 

  The maximum tax under 
Rhode Island’s temporary 
disability insurance (TDI) 
program will be $795.60 for 
calendar year 2016, com-
pared with $770.40 for 2015, 
an increase of 3.3 percent, or 
$25.20. 

  The TDI tax has two main 
components: one is the tax 
rate itself, the other is the 
amount of your wages to 
which that tax rate applies. 

  The maximum amount of 
wages to which the TDI tax 
rate applies will be $66,300 
for 2016, compared with 
$64,200 for 2015, an increase 
of 3.3 percent, or $2,100. 

  The TDI tax rate is 1.2 per-
cent for 2016 -- the same as it 
has been since 2012. 

  As a result, the maximum 
TDI tax will be $795.60 for 
2016 (the tax rate of 1.2 per-
cent applied to the first 
$66,300 of one’s wages).  

  The maximum TDI tax was 
$770.40 for 2015 (the tax 
rate of 1.2 percent applied to 
the first $64,200 of one’s 
wages).  

  Whether the amount of 
your TDI tax goes up or 
down will generally depend 
on how much you earn. 

  For 2015, TDI tax was paid 
by an estimated 415,000 
private-sector workers.  

  The TDI program is admin-
istered by the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and 
Training; the tax is collected 
by the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation. 

  The TDI program generally 
pays benefits for unemploy-
ment caused by injury or 

illness unrelated to work. A 
related program, funded 
through TDI, is temporary 
caregivers insurance, also 
known as TCI. (For details, 
please see bottom of page.) 

  Workers can learn more about 
the TDI program at the DLT 

website: www.dlt.ri.gov 

 Employers may learn more 
about TDI tax at the Tax Divi-

sion website: www.tax.ri.gov 

Temporary caregiver insurance (tci) program 

  Rhode Island’s Temporary 
Caregiver Insurance (TCI) 
program can provide eligible 
claimants with up to four 
weeks of caregiver benefits to 
care for a seriously ill child, 
spouse, domestic partner, 
parent, parent-in-law or 
grandparent, or to bond with 

a newborn child, newly 
adopted child, or new foster
-care child. 

  TCI is part of the TDI pro-
gram; it is paid for through 
TDI taxes.  

  TCI benefits are subject to 
federal and Rhode Island 

income taxes, according to 
the DLT; beneficiaries are 
issued a Form 1099 each 
year for tax purposes, show-
ing the amount of benefits 
received in the prior year. 

To learn more about TCI: 
www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi 

Year Tax rate Wage base Max. tax 

2014 1.2% $62,700 $752.40 

2013 1.2% $61,400 $736.80 

2012 1.2% $60,000 $720.00 

2011 1.3% $58,400 $759.20 

2010 1.2% $57,900 $694.80 

2009 1.5% $56,000 $840.00 

2008 1.3% $54,400 $707.20 

2015 1.2% $64,200 $770.40 

2016 1.2% $66,300 $795.60 
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TAX YEAR 2016 :  INCREASE IN EARNED INCOME CREDIT 

  Rhode Island is making availa-
ble a more generous earned 
income credit for the 2016 tax 
year. 

  The earned income credit, or 

EIC, is a special tax break for 
the working poor. It is availa-
ble under federal and Rhode 
Island law, and is sometimes 
referred to as the earned in-

come tax credit, or EITC. 

  Eligible taxpayers may claim a 
federal earned income credit 
and a Rhode Island earned in-
come credit. 

  For tax year 2015 -- which 
taxpayers and preparers are 
focusing on this filing season -- 
the Rhode Island credit was 10 
percent of the federal credit. 

  For tax year 2016, however, 
the Rhode Island credit will be 
12.5 percent of the federal 
credit – and will continue to 
be fully refundable.  

  As a result, a claimant whose 
circumstances for 2016 are the 
same as in 2015 could receive a 
25 percent higher Rhode Island 
earned income credit.  

  Suppose a family receives a 
$5,000 federal earned income 
credit this year and the same next 
year. Their Rhode Island credit 
could be $500 for the 2015 tax 
year, but $625 for the 2016 tax 
year. (See tables below.) 

Tax Details: Theriza Iafrate, principal revenue agent in the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation’s Excise Tax section, addressed more than 100 tax professionals at the 

agency’s “Seminar for Tax Preparers” held in December at the Community College of 
Rhode Island campus in Newport. 

Rhode Island earned income credit – Example 1 
  Tax year 2015 Tax year 2016 
Rhode Island tax $0 $0 
Federal EIC $1,000 $1,000 
Rhode Island % (% of federal EIC) 10% 12.50% 
Rhode Island EIC $100 $125 

Rhode Island earned income credit – Example 2 
  Tax year 2015 Tax year 2016 
Rhode Island tax $700 $700 
Federal EIC $5,000 $5,000 
Rhode Island % (% of federal EIC) 10% 12.50% 
Rhode Island EIC $500 $625 

Standard deduction 

 
  The Rhode Island Divi-

sion of Taxation has 
made inflation adjust-

ments for tax year 2016. 

The new figures will 
show up on tax returns 

in the 2017 filing season, 
for tax year 2016. Nev-
ertheless, they are im-

portant this year for tax-
planning purposes. 

Following are standard 
deduction amounts: 

 For someone filing as 
single, the standard de-
duction increases from 
$8,275 for 2015 to 
$8,300 for 2016. 

 For a married couple 
filing jointly (or qualifying 
widow or widower), the 
standard deduction in-

creases from $16,550 to 
$16,600. 

 For someone filing as 
head of household, the 
standard deduction in-

creases from $12,400 to 
$12,450. 

 For someone filing as 
married filing separately, 
the standard deduction 

increases from $8,275 to 
$8,300 
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TAX YEAR 2016 :  RHODE ISLAND UI WAGE BASE SET 

  For most Rhode Island em-
ployers, the taxable wage base 
for calculating the state’s un-
employment insurance (UI) 
tax will be $22,000 for 2016, 
compared with $21,200 for 
2015, an increase of $800, or 
3.8 percent. 

  The tax rate range for 2016 
will be the same as it was for 
2015, from a minimum of 
1.69 percent to a maximum 
of 9.79 percent.  

   Which rate in that range 
will apply to a specific em-
ployer depends on the em-
ployer's experience with the 
UI system. The lower an em-
ployer’s “experience rate,” 
the less tax the employer 
pays. Notices of individual tax 
rates were mailed to employ-
ers starting in early January.  

  Wage base 

  The state unemployment 
insurance system’s taxable 
wage base represents the 
maximum amount of an em-
ployee’s wages that are sub-

ject to the state UI tax. The 
taxable wage base is set by 
law at 46.5 percent of the 
average annual wage in 
Rhode Island. 

  A separate, higher taxable 
wage base applies for em-
ployers who have experi-
enced considerable unem-
ployment – and who there-
fore have used the system’s 
resources the most and are 
taxed at the highest state UI 
tax rate (9.79 percent). For 
those employers, the taxable 
wage base will be $23,500 
for 2016, up from $22,700 
for  2015, an increase of 
$800, or 3.5 percent. 

  In general, the higher wage 
base impacts about 15 per-
cent of Rhode Island experi-
ence-rated employers. It is 
intended to help offset the 
large drain that these em-
ployers have on the state’s 
unemployment insurance 
trust fund. For example, last 
year, 37.5 percent of all UI 
benefit payments were at-

tributed to the top 15 per-
cent of Rhode Island experi-
ence-rated employers. 

  A separate state UI tax rate 
applies for new employers. 
The Rhode Island UI tax rate 
for new employers in 2016 
will be 2.27 percent, com-
pared with 2.74 percent in 
2015, a decrease of nearly 
half a percentage point. 

  In general, assessments on 
31,400 businesses in the 
state go into the state’s un-
employment insurance trust 
fund, which is used to pay 
unemployment insurance 
benefits for jobless workers.  

  Changes in Rhode Island 
General Laws, enacted in 
2011, altered some of the 
key elements in the state’s 
unemployment insurance tax 
formula for 2012 and later 
years. The changes were part 
of a broader effort to restore 
the state’s unemployment 
insurance trust fund, which 
became insolvent during the 
most recent recession. 

  For example, as a result of a 
1998 state law, the taxable 
wage base was tied to the 
balance of the state’s unem-
ployment insurance trust 
fund.  

   Under the changes enacted 
in 2011, the wage base is 
tied to the statewide average 
annual wage, as the formula 
was before the 1998 law 
took effect. In addition, the 
changes enacted in 2011 
ushered in the higher taxable 
wage base for those employ-
ers who have had the great-
est negative effect on the 
state’s unemployment insur-
ance trust fund.  

  The state UI tax rates men-
tioned above do not include the 

job development assessment, 
which is the same for 2016 as it 
was for 2015:  0.21 percent of 

the taxable wage base.  

Employer taxes are administered 
by the Division of Taxation and 
are overseen by the Department 

of Labor and Training. 
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TAX YEAR 2016 :  INTEREST RATES SET FOR THE YEAR 

Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Refunds 
From To Rate 
01/01/71 05/12/82 6.00% 
05/16/82 12/31/84 14.00% 
01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 
01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 
01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 
01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 
01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 
01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 
01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 
01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 
01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 
01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 
10/01/06 12/31/06 6.75% 
01/01/07 12/31/07 8.25% 
01/01/08 12/31/08 7.75% 
01/01/09 12/31/09 5.00% 
01/01/10 Present 3.25% 

Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Assessments 

From To Rate 
01/01/71 05/15/74 6.00% 
05/16/74 05/31/81 8.00% 
06/01/81 03/15/82 12.00% 
03/16/82 12/31/84 20.00% 
01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 
01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 
01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 
01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 
01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 
01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 
01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 
01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 
01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 
01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 
10/01/06 Present 18.00% 

  The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has post-
ed the interest rates that will apply in 2016 to 
overpayments and delinquencies. 

  The rates are the same as those that applied for 
2015. 

Interest on underpayments 

  The interest rate on delinquent tax payments 
has been set at 18 percent per annum for calen-
dar year 2016.  

Interest on overpayments 

  Interest on overpayments for calendar year 
2016 will be at the rate of 3.25 percent per an-
num. 

A look back 

  The table at left shows interest paid on overpay-
ments since 1971, when the personal income tax 
was enacted. 

  The table at right shows interest rates charged 
on underpayments since 1971. 

Tax bracket set for tax year 2016 

The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation has recalculated tax 
bracket ranges for tax year 
2016, as required by statute.  

  The changes were made to 
the Rhode Island personal 
income tax’s uniform tax rate 
schedule – which is used by 
all filers. 

Inflation adjustment 

  If the dollar figures in tax 
brackets remained constant, a 
taxpayer might be bumped 
into a higher bracket solely 
because of an annual wage 
increase that is intended to 
help the worker keep pace 
with inflation -- an outcome 

  
Rhode Island personal income tax: 
uniform tax rate schedule for 2016 

       Taxable income: 
  
Over 

  
But not over 

  
Pay 

  
+ percent 
on excess 

  
of the amount over 

$            0 $       60,850 $            ‐‐ 3.75% $                0 

     60,850        138,300 2,281.88 4.75%          60,850 

   138,300 ‐‐ 5,960.75 5.99%        138,300 

often referred to as bracket 
creep. To help offset the ef-
fects of bracket creep, the 
General Assembly adopted a 
provision that requires the tax 

brackets to be adjusted annu-
ally with inflation. Standard 
deduction and exemption 
amounts are adjusted in simi-
lar fashion. 



GOVERNOR NAMES ACTING TAX ADMINISTRATOR 
  The Tax 
Division 
has more 
than 200 
employees, 
oversees 
more than 
50 taxes 
and fees, 
and col-
lects more 
than $2.8 
billion in 
annual 
revenue. 

  A 1990 graduate of Ameri-
can University’s Washington 
College of Law, in Washing-
ton, D.C., Savage held a 
number of posts before enter-
ing State service in 1997, 
initially as a hearing officer at 
the Rhode Island Department 
of Business Regulation 
(DBR).  

  She held a number of posi-
tions at the DBR, eventually 
becoming acting deputy di-
rector and executive counsel. 

She joined 
the Division 
of Taxation 
in February 
2015. 

  While at 
the Division 
of Taxation, 
she has 
helped to 
oversee the 
agency’s 
conversion 
to a new 

computer system and has also 
helped to oversee the agen-
cy’s Collections section. 

  Sullivan was appointed 
Rhode Island Tax Administra-
tor for the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation in July 2006, 
and Acting DOR Director in 
April 2015.  

  He previously worked for 
the State of Delaware Divi-
sion of Revenue for 10 years, 
serving as a manager in the 
Business Tax Section and as 
Deputy Director of Revenue 

N eena S. Savage, Rhode 
Island’s Associate Di-

rector of Revenue Services 
and Assistant Tax Administra-
tor, has been named as Acting 
Tax Administrator. 

  She succeeds David M. Sulli-
van, who stepped down as 
Tax Administrator in Decem-
ber for a private-sector job.  
The appointment of Savage 
was announced by Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo, who also 
appointed Marilyn Shannon 
McConaghy, Department of 
Revenue (DOR) Administra-
tive and Legal Support Ser-
vices Administrator, to serve 
as Acting DOR Director. 

  “We have in place a team of 
professionals at the DOR and 
at Taxation who will keep the 
agencies running well while 
the transition takes place and 
we engage in a search for per-
manent replacements,” Gov-
ernor Raimondo said in a 
statement on November 25, 
2015. 
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National leader: David M. Sullivan (at lectern above) became a national leader in state tax matters, serving as president of the 
Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) and holding a number of other national roles. In Washington, D.C., in November with 

Internal Revenue Service Commissioner John Koskinen (far left) and others, Sullivan represented the states at a security summit to 
combat tax refund fraud. Sullivan stepped down from his post as Rhode Island Tax Administrator in December to take a job in the 

private sector. 

Photo by Julianne Fisher Breitbeil / Internal Revenue Service 

for the last five years.  

  As Rhode Island Tax Ad-
ministrator, Sullivan spear-
headed the acquisition and 
implementation of an agen-
cy-wide computer system 
(integrated tax system); 
helped to implement 
sweeping changes to the 
personal income tax and 
corporate income tax; cre-
ated the agency’s Special 
Investigation Unit; im-
proved accountability and 
transparency by publicly 
posting administrative deci-
sions and other documents 
on the agency’s website; 
groomed a new generation 
of managers to replace the 
many supervisors who have 
retired; and established the 
Tax Division’s seminar for 
tax preparers.  

  All the while, he has held 
numerous regional and na-
tional posts. He is a past 
president of the Federation 
of Tax Administrators’ 
Board and has served as 
Treasurer for the North 
Eastern States Tax Officials 
Association.  

  In 2015, he helped imple-
ment a nationwide anti-
fraud effort in collaboration 
with the Internal Revenue 
Service, other states, and 
the tax preparation and soft-
ware industry.  
  In recognition of his ac-
complishments, the Rhode 
Island Public Expenditure 
Council named Sullivan the 
2011 winner of its prestig-
ious Gary S. Sasse Distin-
guished Public Service 
Award. 

Neena S. Savage, Esq. 



The Rhode Island State 
Council on the Arts is 

spreading the word (see 
above) about Rhode Is-

land's statewide sales tax 
exemption on the sale of 

original and limited 
edition works of art. 
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RHODE ISLAND WINS AWARD FOR UI TAX OPERATIONS 
  The State of Rhode Island has 
been recognized for running 
one of the nation’s best unem-
ployment insurance (UI) tax 
operations.  

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation and the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and 
Training (DLT) received a 
State Performance Excellence 
Award as the top-performing 
small state in UI tax opera-
tions. The award was present-
ed in October at a conference 
of the National Association of 
State Workforce Agencies 
(NASWA) in Albuquerque, 
N.M. 

  DLT Assistant Director of 
Income Support Robert Lang-
lais, who heads the state UI 
program, and Chief Revenue 
Agent Philip D’Ambra, head 
of the Division of Taxation’s 
Employer Tax section, accept-
ed the NASWA award.  

  It was the sixth straight year 
that Rhode Island has won in 
the small state category. The 
DLT and the Division of Taxa-
tion’s Employer Tax section 
have long collaborated on run-
ning this key area of the state 
UI system. 

  “For Rhode Island to be rec-
ognized by its peers for run-
ning high-quality UI tax opera-
tions is gratifying and I con-
gratulate the Division of Taxa-
tion and DLT for their ef-
forts,” Governor Gina M. Rai-
mondo said. “My administra-
tion is committed to continu-
ous improvement in rethink-
ing the way we work and be-
coming more customer-
friendly to make it easier for 

Rhode Islanders to do business 
with government," she said. 

  Rhode Island Acting Tax Ad-
ministrator Neena S. Savage 
said, “This award recognizes 
the high standards of the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s Employer 
Tax section and of the Depart-
ment of Labor and Training. It 
also recognizes the hard work 
that the Division of Taxation 
and the Department of Labor 
and Training do, day in and day 
out, as a team.” She added, 
“Their work reflects well on 
the Department of Revenue’s 
Division of Taxation, the De-
partment of Labor and Train-
ing, and on the State of Rhode 
Island. We are all very proud 

Award Winners: Philip D’Ambra (left), chief of the Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s Employer 
Tax section, and Robert Langlais (center), assistant director of income support for the Rhode Island De-
partment of Labor and Training, accept award from Gay Gilbert of the U.S. Department of Labor. The 

award recognizes Rhode Island for running one of the nation’s best state unemployment insurance (UI) tax 
operations. The award was presented in October at a conference of the National Association of State Work-

force Agencies (NASWA) in Albuquerque, N.M. 

of their accomplishments.” 

  DLT Director Scott Jensen 
said, “Along with the U.S. De-
partment of Labor, the Nation-
al Association of State Work-
force Agencies sets the standard 
for best practices in our field. 
For this reason, I’m especially 
proud of our UI tax team’s 
accomplishment.” He added, 
“Our goal is to continue to 
innovate to deliver excellent 
customer service to both the 
workers who rely on UI and 
the employers who pay for UI. 
Doing this will help Rhode 
Island preserve a skilled work-
force that’s ready to meet the 
challenges of our competitive 
economy.” 
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Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed.  

 

Utilities 

At issue were certain sales of 
gas made by a utility. Did 
those sales qualify for a sales 
and use tax exemption? 

Rhode Island imposes a 7 
percent sales and use tax. 
Certain items are exempt. At 
the time the issue arose, ex-
emptions included the follow-
ing: 

 heating fuel used in the 
heating of homes and residen-
tial premises. 

 electricity and gas furnished 
for domestic use by occupants 
of residential premises. 

[Editor’s Note: Please see “New 
Law” at bottom of this page.] 

After a field audit of the utili-
ty, the Division of Taxation 
issued a Notice of Deficiency. 
The utility appealed and a 
hearing was held.  

The Division of Taxation ar-
gued, in part, that the exemp-

tions mentioned above did 
not apply in this case. The 
utility argued, in part, that 
under Rhode Island General 
Laws (RIGL) § 44-18-30(20) 
and § 44-18-30(21), the ex-
emptions apply. 

Hearing Officer Catherine R. 
Warren found that the utili-
ty’s sale of gas for heating 
purposes made to residential 

premises was tax-exempt. 
She cited RIGL § 44-18-30
(20), which exempts the sale, 
storage, use, or other con-
sumption of every type of fuel 
used in the heating of homes 
and residential premises. 

Warren also found that the 
sale of gas used for non-
heating purposes was exempt 
from tax in certain circum-
stances but not in others. She 
cited RIGL § 44-18-30(21), 
which exempts the sale, stor-
age, use, or other consump-
tion of electricity and gas 
furnished for domestic use by 
occupants of residential 
premises. 

Warren in May 2015 recom-
mended that the Tax Divi-
sion’s Notice of Deficiency be 
upheld in part and that the 
Division recalculate the tax 
and interest owed by the utili-
ty. In October 2015, David 
M. Sullivan, who was tax 
administrator at the time, 
adopted her decision and rec-
ommendation. 

-- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2015-24 

(Please turn to page 10) 
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Tax hearings 

 
Any taxpayer aggrieved by 
the action of the Tax Divi-

sion in determining the 
amount of tax, surcharge, 

or penalty, may make writ-
ten request for a formal 

hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afford-
ed an opportunity to have a 
preliminary review. Should 
the matter not be resolved, 

it may then proceed to 
formal hearing under the 

terms of the state Adminis-
trative Procedures Act 

(RIGL § 42-35-1 et seq) and 
Tax Division regulation 

AHP 97-01. 

If not satisfied with the 
outcome, the taxpayer may 

appeal to Sixth Division 
District Court (RIGL § 8-8-

24 et seq). 

Rhode Island Tax News pro-
vides only summaries of 

some recent tax-case deci-
sions, which are based on 
specific facts and circum-

stances. 
The summaries are merely 

informative and provide 
general information. To 
determine how state tax 
laws and regulations apply 
to your particular circum-

stances, please consult your 
tax professional. 

New law broadens exemptions for heating fuel, electricity, gas 

Rhode Island Governor Gina 
M. Raimondo on June 30, 
2015, signed into law a bill 
approved by the General As-
sembly that made changes in 
the sales and use tax law effec-
tive July 1, 2015. The Admin-
istrative Decision (above) re-

fers to the law prior to the 
changes.  

Heating fuel: Under prior law, 
the exemption applied to heat-
ing fuel used in the heating of 
homes and residential premis-
es, and to heating fuel used in 
the manufacturing process. 

Under the new law, the ex-
emption applies to heating fuel 
in any type of use, including 
any type of business use.  

Electricity, Gas: Under prior 
law, the exemption applied 
only to electricity and gas fur-
nished for domestic use by 

occupants of residential 
premises, and to electricity 
and gas used in the manufac-
turing process. Under the 
new law, the exemption ap-
plies to electricity and any 
type of gas furnished for any 
type of use, including busi-
ness use. 
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Tax Division computer-conversion project moves ahead 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation is engaged in a 
multi-year project involving 
the acquisition, installation, 
and implementation of a new 
agency-wide computer sys-
tem -- an integrated tax sys-
tem. 

  The first phase of the pro-
ject, which occurred in sum-
mer 2014, mainly involved 
converting account records 

and other information involv-
ing bank, insurance, and cer-
tain other tax types and fees 
from the old system into the 
new system. 

  In the second phase, which 
occurred late in 2015, the 
personal income tax, estate 
and trust income tax, compo-
site income tax, and pass-
through withholding were 
migrated onto the new system. 

 

Responsible officer 

  At issue is whether a tax-
payer was a 
“responsible 
officer” for 
his company 
and was 
therefore 
liable for the 
withholding 
tax assessed  
by the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation. 

  In an audit of the company, 
the Division of Taxation 
found discrepancies between 
its Forms W-2, showing 
wages paid to employees and 
taxes withheld from them, 
and its Forms W-3, showing 
reconciliations of tax pay-
ments made by the company 
to the Division of Taxation. 

  The Division of Taxation 
issued a Notice of Deficiency 
to a man who was listed as 
company president and to a 
woman who was listed as the 
company’s 100 percent 
shareholder.  

  At a hearing, she testified 
that she had been married to 
the company president; she 

was not aware 
that she had been 
listed on the busi-
ness’s tax return 
as the 100 per-
cent shareholder; 
he was responsi-
ble for the busi-
ness’s day-to-day 
operations; she 
was not responsi-

ble for payments or payroll; 
and she had no authority to 
file tax returns on behalf of 
the company. 

  She entered into a settle-
ment agreement with the Tax 
Division. He did not. 

  Warren, citing Rhode Island 
General Laws (RIGL) § 44-
30-76 (among other things), 
found that the company pres-
ident had the responsibility to 
withhold tax, as evidenced by 
his signing of quarterly with-
holding tax returns filed with 
the Tax Division.  

  In addition, undisputed evi-

dence at the hearing (which 
he did not attend) showed 
that he exercised day-to-day 
control over the company. 

  On October 16, 2015, 
Warren concluded that the 
company president was a 
responsible officer and was 
therefore liable for the as-
sessment of 
withhold-
ing tax, 
plus inter-
est and 
penalty. 

On De-
cember 11, 
2015, Sul-
livan 
adopted 
her deci-
sion and 
recom-
mendation. 

-- Final 
Decision and Order No. 

2015-25  

Decisions online 

The Division of Taxation’s website shows all Administra-
tive Decisions since early 2011. (See screenshot above.) 

To view, see www.tax.ri.gov 

   Later this year, major ele-
ments of the project will be 
completed: The Tax Division 
will launch a new website and 
taxpayer portal, and a number 
of other taxes and fees will be 
converted, including the cor-
porate income tax and the 
sales and use tax. (The final 
migration, involving the ac-
counting function, will take 
place in 2017.) 
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T he Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation was involved 

in two joint investigations 
with police that led to arrests 
regarding untaxed tobacco 
products. 

  Months of effort  

  The first investigation un-
folded as follows, according to 
the Rhode Island State Police: 

  In May of 2015, members of 
the Rhode Island Department 
of Revenue’s Division of Tax-
ation advised members of the 
Rhode Island State Police In-
telligence Unit of a possible 
operation involving the distri-
bution of untaxed “other to-
bacco products”.  

  (The term “other tobacco 
products” -- also known as 
“OTP” -- typically refers to 
tobacco products other than 
cigarettes. The category in-
cludes smoking tobacco, 
chewing tobacco, hookah and 
other items.) 

  A four-month investigation 
followed, during which au-
thorities gathered evidence 
indicating that a Pawtucket 
man was illegally distributing 
OTP to various convenience 
stores throughout Rhode Is-
land. 

  The Pawtucket man was ob-
served visiting a moving and 
storage facility in Fall River, 
Massachusetts, where he ob-
tained the tobacco products 
that he later distributed. 

  From October 14 to Octo-
ber 15, members of the Rhode 
Island State Police, with the  

assistance of members of 
the Massachusetts State 
Police, Rhode Island Di-
vision of Taxation, and 
Rhode Island Department 
of Corrections, executed 
nine search warrants at a 
number of locations, in-
cluding the Pawtucket 
man’s residence and his 
vehicle, and the storage 
facility in Fall River. 

  Overall, authorities 
wound up seizing about 
$1.5 million worth of 
OTP; $12,500 in cash; 
two laptop computers; 
and video surveillance 
equipment. 

  The Rhode Island 
State Police arrested 
the Pawtucket man at his home 
on October 14; he was ar-
raigned the next day in Sixth 
Division District Court in 
Providence on charges that 
included importation of ciga-
rettes with intent to evade tax, 
perjury, and laundering of 
monetary instruments.  

  He pleaded not guilty and the 
case was continued.  

  If he is convicted of the 
charges against him, he could 
face fines and imprisonment. 

  David M. Sullivan, who was 
Rhode Island’s tax administra-
tor and acting director of the 
Department of Revenue at the 
time, praised the work of the 
Division of Taxation’s Special 
Investigation Unit (SIU), the 
Rhode Island State Police, and 
others involved in the case. 

 

‘Teamwork’ 

  “This is a good example of 
teamwork -- of government 
agencies working together 
and going the extra mile to 
make sure that the law is 
upheld and that everybody 
plays by the rules,” Sullivan 
said.  

  “Their concerted effort 
and determined investiga-
tive work led to the demise 
of an alleged criminal enter-
prise that the police say was 
illegally siphoning taxpayer 
dollars,” he said.  

  “This sends a message to 
dishonest dealers that they 
will be caught. It also sends 
a message to honest distrib-
utors and retailers that we 
are working hard to main-
tain a level playing field for 
them.” Sullivan said that the 
seizure and arrest resulted 
from an investigation into 

the illegal distribution of 
untaxed rolling papers, 
chewing tobacco, roll-your
-own tobacco, and other 
items. Under Rhode Island 
law, such items cannot be 
sold in the state unless the 
required taxes have been 
paid, he said.  

  “It was the Division of 
Taxation’s Special Investi-
gation Unit staff who got 
the ball rolling in this case. 
The Special Investigation 
Unit earlier this year ad-
vised the Rhode Island 
State  Police Intelligence 
Unit of a possible opera-
tion involving the distribu-
tion of untaxed tobacco  
products. I am extremely 
proud of the SIU -- and of 
their professionalism and 
dedication,” Sullivan said. 

(Please turn to page 12) 

Untaxed: Investigators found what they described as boxes of untaxed tobacco prod-
ucts  at a storage facility in Fall River, Massachusetts, last fall. The products were 
part of an illegal distribution scheme which led to the arrest of a Pawtucket man. 

Photo by Daniel Salzillo / Rhode Island Division of Taxation -Special Investigation Unit 



 

Tax tip line 
If you have information about wrong-
doing involving state taxes, call the 
tax fraud tip line at (401) 574-TIPS 

or (401) 574- 8477 and leave a 
message. The line is staffed by the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s 
Special Investigation Unit, which 
follows up on all tips. Callers can 

leave their names and contact infor-
mation or remain anonymous. 
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  In the second case, details of 
which emerged in December, 
a joint investigation by the 
Providence Police Depart-
ment and the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation into the 
illegal distribution of untaxed 
tobacco products resulted in 
an arrest and in the seizure of 
more than $20,000 in cash 
and contraband tobacco.  

  The case was the result of a 
weeks-long joint investiga-
tion by the Providence Po-
lice Department’s Intelli-
gence and Organized Crime 
Unit and the License En-
forcement Unit, along with 
the assistance of the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation’s 
Special Investigation Unit. 

  Through surveillance and a 
lengthy investigation, law 
enforcement determined that 
a Providence man had been 
storing suspected contraband 
tobacco products at a moving 
and storage facility in Provi-
dence and was also observed 
delivering tobacco products. 
(He did not have a license for 
such activity and has never 
submitted to the Tax Divi-
sion any related filings, re-
turns, or remittances.) 

Counterfeit stamps 

  He was placed in police 
custody and a search warrant 
was executed for his home in 
Providence as well as for his 
moving and storage locker 
elsewhere in Providence. 

  Authorities found numer-
ous tobacco products, in-
cluding untaxed counterfeit 
stamped cigarettes, suspect-
ed synthetic marijuana, 
counterfeit tax stamps, and 
about $20,088 in cash. 

  The man was charged with 
importation of cigarettes 

self-audit program for use tax 

with intent to evade tax, 
operating without a dealer 
license, and selling un-
stamped cigarettes, among 
other things. He pleaded not 
guilty and the case was con-
tinued.  

Lengthy record 

  The authorities also deter-
mined that the man had a 
lengthy criminal record with 
charges including multiple 
arrests and convictions for 
possession of untaxed tobac-
co products. 

Storage: Rhode Island State Police, in a joint investigation with the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s Special Investigation Unit and 

others, uncovered untaxed tobacco products in a recent case. 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation is offering a self-
audit program involving 
Rhode Island’s use tax. 

It is an opportunity for tax-
payers, especially businesses, 
to clear their books of a use 
tax liability and get a signifi-
cant break in the form of a 

penalty waiver and interest 
forgiveness. 

Clients may benefit 

  Practitioners may have cli-
ents who would benefit, and 
the Division of Taxation in-
vites practitioners to encour-
age them to apply. 

  The program has its own 
webpage, which includes the 
program application, FAQs, 
and other information. It is 
on the agency’s website: 
www.tax.ri.gov 

  Information about the self-
audit program is also availa-
ble by calling the Division of 

Taxation’s Field Audit sec-
tion at (401) 574-8962 
from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 
p.m. business days. 

  Legislation authorizing the 
program -- also known as 
the managed audit program 
-- was enacted in June 
2015. 

Photo by Daniel Salzillo / Rhode Island Division of Taxation -Special Investigation Unit 
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Q: Should we still use 
Form RI-1120X for 
amended corporate re-
turns? 

A: It depends upon the year 
involved. Use Form RI-
1120X for amended returns 
involving 
tax year 
2014 or 
prior years.  

However, 
for amend-
ed returns 
involving 
tax year 
2015 and 
future tax 
years, use 
Form RI-
1120C (for C corporations) 
or Form RI-1120S (for S cor-
porations) and check the 
“Amended Return” or 
“Amended” box located on 
page one of the form, at the 
top left. (Form RI-1120X has 
been discontinued starting for 
tax year 2015.)  

What if you’re amending 
Form RI-1065? There’s no 
change – just check the 
“Amended” box at the top left 
of the first page. 

Note: If you are filing an 
amended Rhode Island busi-
ness tax return due to federal 
changes, follow the steps not-
ed above. Do not use the out-
dated Rhode Island Form T-
70C (even if your software 
tells you to). 

Q: If our firm does not e-
file a client’s federal per-

sonal income tax return, 
for whatever reason, can 
we still e-file that cli-
ent’s Rhode Island per-
sonal income tax re-
turn? 

A: Yes. You may recall that, 
at one 
time, the 
federal and 
state re-
turn had to 
be e-filed 
together, 
as a pack-
age. Now-
adays, 
however, 
they need 
not be e-
filed to-

gether; you can e-file the 
Rhode Island return on its 
own (assuming that your 
software allows for it). 

Q: My client has a fiscal 
year and will file its an-
nual return to Rhode 
Island soon. We cannot 
file the return electroni-
cally for the most recent 
tax year because Rhode 
Island shut down e-
filing for the most re-
cent tax year in late No-
vember 2015. So we have 
to file the return on pa-
per. Will we be penal-
ized for failing to abide 
by the e-file mandate? 

A: No. But to be on the safe 
side, when you file your 
client’s paper return, in-
clude a cover letter explain-
ing the circumstances.  

We began enforcing the man-
date to e-file corporate tax 
returns beginning with the 
filing season that started Janu-
ary 1, 2013.  

However, the mandate does 
not apply if we are not accept-
ing e-filed returns. Each year, 
we temporarily close our sys-
tem to e-filing in order to 
prepare the system for the 
upcoming filing season, just as 
the Internal Revenue Service 
and many other jurisdictions 
do.  

We scheduled our most re-
cent annual electronic filing 
shutdown and switchover for 
November 21, 2015.  

For e-file purposes, Rhode 
Island accepts only current-
year returns.  

Thus, November 21, 2015, 
was the deadline for e-filing 
Rhode Island personal and 
business tax returns for the 
2014 tax year. 

The Division’s current-year 
rule means some fiscal-year 
filers can e-file only if they are 
willing to e-file early.  

For example, a taxpayer with 
a September 30 fiscal year-
end waiting to the original 
due date in December to file 
would have to file a paper 
return.  

E-filing instead? That taxpayer 
would have to e-file by the 
late November shutdown and 
switchover date. 

(Please turn to page 14) 

  

  

About     
‘Practitioners’ Corner’ 

 

The “Practitioners’ Corner” 
feature provides general an-
swers to some of the ques-
tions that the Tax Division 

encounters through the nor-
mal course of business. 

The answers are intended 
solely to provide general infor-

mation. They do not repre-
sent formal guidance, and are 

not substitutes for Rhode 
Island General Laws, Tax 

Division regulations, or Tax 
Division rulings. 
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Q: Can I e-file my client’s 
Form RI-1096PT? 

A: Form RI-1096PT, “Pass-
through Withholding Return 
and Transmittal,” is used to 
report the amount of Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
that a pass-through entity has 
withheld from its nonresident 
partners, members, benefi-
ciaries, and shareholders. 

The form cannot be e-filed at 
this time. However, the Divi-
sion of Taxation is in the pro-
cess of implementing a new 
agency-wide computer sys-
tem. The second phase of the 
project was just completed; 
the third and final phase is 
scheduled for late this year.  

It is possible that e-filing of 
Form RI-1096PT will be al-
lowed once the third phase is 
completed. 
 

Q: My clients will be eli-
gible this season for the 
full amount of the lead 
paint credit. Will they 
actually receive the full 
amount? 

A: Rhode Island allows for a 
refundable credit against the 
personal income tax for ex-
penses related to residential 
lead paint removal or reduc-
tion. 

The maximum credit is 
$1,500 for reduction or miti-
gation, $5,000 for removal or 
abatement.  

(There are numerous rules 
and restrictions; details are in 
Form RI-6238.) 

But keep in mind that there 
are typically more claimants 
than there is money to dis-
tribute. (The overall pro-
gram is capped at a flat 
$250,000 a year.) There is 
an order of distribution (see 
the form for details).  

As a result, some claimants 
may receive far less than 
they claimed. Last year, for 
example, some received 
only about 10 percent of 
what they were expecting to 
get, due to the high volume 
of applicants. 

Q: My client 
has a quali-
fied subchap-
ter S subsidi-
ary. Should 
this be in-
cluded on the 
Rhode Island 
Form 1120S? 

A. If your client has a quali-
fied subchapter S subsidiary 
– also known as a “Qsub” or 
“Q-sub” – check the box 
located on the front page of 
the return (top left corner), 
and also complete Schedule 
G, the “Q-Sub Schedule.”  

Q: My client plans to 
claim the statewide 
property-tax relief 
credit on Form RI-
1040H, and I plan to e-
file her return, but my 
software won’t let me 
attach copies of rent 
receipts or other re-
quired documentation. 
What will happen? 

A: Such documents must be 

attached to a paper return, 
but if you e-file and your 
software won’t let you attach 
the documentation, go ahead 
and e-file the return anyway 
– we will accept such a re-
turn, but we reserve the 
right to ask for the support-
ing documentation, so advise 
your client to keep it on file 
just in case.  

Q: My client is 64 years 
old, single, and collect-
ing Social Security re-
tirement benefits or sur-

vivor benefits. 
Can he qualify 
for the credit 
on Form RI-
1040H? 

A: No. There are 
a number of 
rules involving 
the program. 

One is that the taxpayer 
must be 65 or older or disa-
bled – and collecting Social 
Security disability benefits or 
receiving Supplemental Se-
curity Income (SSI) benefits. 

Q: My client has not 
filed since 2008. I’ve just 
finished her 2009 return 
and it shows a refund. I 
realize that the refund 
claim is out of time, but 
can we apply it against 
the balances due? 

A: No. If the refund claim 
were timely, you could apply 
it against the tax owed. But 
in this case, the refund claim 
is not timely. (For more about 
refund rules, see page 8 of the 
fourth-quarter 2015 edition of 
this newsletter.) 

 

 

 

 

Social Security tax break 
 

  For tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2016, a Rhode 

Island personal income tax modi-
fication is allowed for certain 

beneficiaries of the federal Social 
Security program. 

If you are eligible based on in-
come and some other factors, 
the amount of your income 

taxed by Rhode Island will be 
reduced by the amount of your 
Social Security benefits taxed at 

the federal level. 

The Division of Taxation contin-
ues to study certain aspects of 
the statute as amended. When 

those deliberations are complete, 
the agency plans to post infor-

mation about how the tax break 
applies.  
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